Cocktail Wieners II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2004
Tasted great. Only suggestion I have is to halve the sauce. I used a 56 ounce package of Smokies, so I thought I would need roughly 25 ounces each of the cocktail sauce and the grape jelly. Turns out a 12 ounce jar of cocktail sauce and a 15 ounce jar of grape jelly made more than enough for all those sausages.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
I have several variations I make on this recipe; I heat up the ingredients in a microwaveable bowl 1st, then switch it to the crockpot to keep warm for serving. For The Grandchildren: DO NOT use cocktail sauce -- instead I add to taste a couple tablespoons of prepared yellow mustard, & a standard BBQ sauce...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ankeny, Iowa, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
I substituted a bottle of chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce & used 2 packages of little smokies...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
we used to have this when I was a kid. Everyone devours this. Mom always made this in a crock pot and let it simmer at least an hour or two before putting on the buffet table so the meat could really soak up the flavor of the sauce. Works great with Kielbasa as well(thats how Mom liked it best).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by db

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
What a great variation to the bar-b-que sauce recipe. I like this so much better. If you can get pass the cocktail sauce and grape jelly try adding a can of drained pineapple chunks. It's so good! Thanks Judy for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
Don't be put off by the grape jelly!! and don't be afraid to try other variations. I have used red current preserves and added to it about 1/2 cup of barby sauce (any kind), even a couple tablespoons of honey, I'm going to try a dash of A-1 steak sauce in it, too!!! This is GREAT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
when i first made this up for our family get together this weekend. i tasted the sauce just after it "melted" together. and i thought. wow this is way to tangy. oh well i dont have time to redo it....... I AM SOOOOOOO GLAD I DIDNT!!!!!!!!! the longer this heated in the crock pot the better it got!! the tang went away. and blended together perfectly !!! was a huge hit at the party!! thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Definitely needs adjusting! I used 2 (16 ounce) package of smokies, 8 oz cocktail and 8 oz grape jelly, they were swimming! Once I drained some of liquid out, they were yummy! ***Also, remember to dump your sausages on a paper towel to drain all the excess juice from bag, BEFORE you add them to the jelly mixture. There is alot of excess liquid in those bags!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa2roberto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburndale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
the ingred said cocktail sauce. i used chile sauce and it was great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This type of recipe is something my mom has made for years and years. She always used chili sauce instead of cocktail sauce and so do I. I also add 2 teaspoons of fresh prepared horseradish for a little bite but not overbearing and the juice of half a lemon. Just brightens the flavor a bit. Like other reviewers have said, just because you massively increase the amount of wieners you don't have to match the increase with the sauce 1 for 1. I also like to brown the wieners in a frying pan before adding to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wick of Twizt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Amarillo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Shrimp Cocktail

Take the classic shrimp cocktail to new levels of appetizer excellence.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States