Cocktail Wieners II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
I use 2 bottles of chili sauce (24oz total) + 1 jar of grape jelly (18oz). Warm in a pot on the stove to blend the 2 together. Pour over the wieners in a crockpot & let them warm together. Longer the better I think. Never have any leftovers. Very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanne Bracken

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This recipe was alright, if you really like the flavor of grape jelly then this is for you. I followed the recipe to the "t" and when complete, all I could taste was the grape jelly... I added a little more cocktail sauce and it was a little better. Overall, it's not a bad recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
I made this recipe ahead of time for a party and had a my friend's little girl (who would be at the party) try it before I made a second batch. She said she absolutely loved it and so I let her snack on a few before I put in a second package of cocktail wieners. The sauce was enough for two packs of 16oz wieners (32oz in total) so I just added them to the portion of sauce I'd already made. I must admit I was very sceptical about this recipe because of the jelly, but there's no way you could possibly know that jelly is in the sauce unless someone told you. This is an excellent recipe. I would recommend letting the wieners cook slower and longer in the sauce to get the full effect of the flavor. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
This was ok. Not a lot of people went crazy over them but they were edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Wilkerson Harmon
Living In: Scottsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Simple and perfect! Replaced an old family recipe; grandmother uses this one too now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFLYNZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I substituted the cocktail sauce with hickory barbecue sauce and let them cook for an hour so that the sauce would begin to carmelize. Everyone loved them and kept going back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
These were OK, figured with all the good reviews would be better. Usually just make it with Catalina dressing and weinies. Probably will just go back to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Really, really, tasty. Really, really, easy. I doubled the recipe, since I was having a big party. I followed the recipe, but I used currant jelly, as other suggested. I heated up the cocktail sauce and jelly in a pot until they melted together, added the wieners, cooked them a few minutes, then tossed the whole lot into a crock pot for the party. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
These were a hit at my teen daughter's Chrismukah party. I used chili sauce per others' suggestion and raspberry preserves. Could have used one more package of wieners and still had plenty of sauce. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
There were only two of these little guys left after we had a party, so an easy app that went over well. I think I will try a different variety of coctail wiener next time, because the ones I bought tasted too smoky for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States