Cocktail Wieners I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
My husband's family loves this recipe and requests it for every family function!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Maybe it's a regional thing, but this is a favorite appetizer in Wisconsin. I wouldn't use any other sauce for little weenies - Barbeque sauce is too thick...little weenies in a cranberry and chili sauce mix is always at a party and is always gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I was going to add my recipe for cocktail wieners but found this one that is very similar. The only difference in my recipe is that I add 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to the sauce. I have been making this for our church Christmas Cantata for years and I always take copies of the recipe with me because I am always asked for it. I was shocked at the low rating of this recipe because it is really a hit in my community. I also have a recipe that uses the grape jelly but we all agree that the cranberry sauce is much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Nice simple recipe. I was looking for one that didn't call for currant or grape jelly, which I don't keep on hand. Cranberry sauce I keep on hand, so this filled the bill perfectly. We even like the cold sauce as a dipper with other things like crackers or fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I was out of chili sauce, so I replaced it with cocktail sauce, and gave the mixture a squeeze of lemon juice, and a sprinkling of brown sugar. The cranberry sauce made a really nice thick sauce that coated the wieners well! My husband couldn't stop eating them the first time and requests them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickrell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Adams, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe couldn't get any simpler. They were a huge hit with kids and adults. Just be sure not to cook them too long. Will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
Love this! Making it for the second time tonight. Made it at Halloween and it was a huge hit with everyone. Great leftovers as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susieq

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boiling Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
My sister makes this in the crock pot all the time (on low and keep an eye on it)and I just LOVE it. She adds the lemon juice and brown sugar that another reviewer mentioned. Can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These were very good. I usually just use BBQ sauce, I like this better. I heated on the stove, then transfered to a small crock pot,Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
THIS WAS SO EASY AND GOOD MY CHILDREN LOVED THE SAUCE, THE ATE EVERY BIT OF IT AND POUED THE SAUCE ON THIER BRISKET!! A MUST TRY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States