Cocktail Wieners I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Maybe it's a regional thing, but this is a favorite appetizer in Wisconsin. I wouldn't use any other sauce for little weenies - Barbeque sauce is too thick...little weenies in a cranberry and chili sauce mix is always at a party and is always gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I was going to add my recipe for cocktail wieners but found this one that is very similar. The only difference in my recipe is that I add 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to the sauce. I have been making this for our church Christmas Cantata for years and I always take copies of the recipe with me because I am always asked for it. I was shocked at the low rating of this recipe because it is really a hit in my community. I also have a recipe that uses the grape jelly but we all agree that the cranberry sauce is much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
Don't let these cook longer than needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2003
I'm sorry, but this was nasty (atleast to my family and the 2 other families at the party.) I had seen that everyone put them on their plates but noticed that noone was eating them. I tried one myself and I didn't even get it down before I spit it back out. I had to bring them all back home and in the trash they went. Normally, we all like these lil' weinies...but I think it might have been the chili sauce. Yuk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRYSTALJP

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Instead of cranberry sauce, try adding grape jelly...about 4 to 5 tablespoons, or to suit taste. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
These were very good. I usually just use BBQ sauce, I like this better. I heated on the stove, then transfered to a small crock pot,Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Everyone enjoyed these! Kids and adults. I followed the recipe as is adding 2 T brown sugar and 1 T lemon juice as suggested by another reviewer. The ingredients sound a little strange, but they meld together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2003
Yum! You gotta love this recipe! It's tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Great tangy flavored sauce. We served them over rice to made a main dish. I imagine they would be great over noodles too. I could easily use them as appetizer dish at a party too. I had 4 pounds of little smokies(from a warehouse store) and there was more than enough sauce for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novamommy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Crofton, Maryland, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
holy moley, these were DELICIOUS. a great combo of sweet and spicey! needs no changes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States