Cocktail Wieners I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
This recipe couldn't get any simpler. They were a huge hit with kids and adults. Just be sure not to cook them too long. Will definetely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I was out of chili sauce, so I replaced it with cocktail sauce, and gave the mixture a squeeze of lemon juice, and a sprinkling of brown sugar. The cranberry sauce made a really nice thick sauce that coated the wieners well! My husband couldn't stop eating them the first time and requests them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickrell, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Adams, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
Made for a pot luck, was o.k but had left overs to bring back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
Everyone enjoyed these! Kids and adults. I followed the recipe as is adding 2 T brown sugar and 1 T lemon juice as suggested by another reviewer. The ingredients sound a little strange, but they meld together perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Nice simple recipe. I was looking for one that didn't call for currant or grape jelly, which I don't keep on hand. Cranberry sauce I keep on hand, so this filled the bill perfectly. We even like the cold sauce as a dipper with other things like crackers or fresh veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Ludlow, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2005
Great little appetisers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
I was going to add my recipe for cocktail wieners but found this one that is very similar. The only difference in my recipe is that I add 2 Tbsp. of brown sugar and 1 Tbsp. lemon juice to the sauce. I have been making this for our church Christmas Cantata for years and I always take copies of the recipe with me because I am always asked for it. I was shocked at the low rating of this recipe because it is really a hit in my community. I also have a recipe that uses the grape jelly but we all agree that the cranberry sauce is much, much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
Maybe it's a regional thing, but this is a favorite appetizer in Wisconsin. I wouldn't use any other sauce for little weenies - Barbeque sauce is too thick...little weenies in a cranberry and chili sauce mix is always at a party and is always gone by the end of the night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RDZELLMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2004
Instead of cranberry sauce, try adding grape jelly...about 4 to 5 tablespoons, or to suit taste. Much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
These are O.K. but the recipe listed with sunshine's cocktail wieners are much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stryker, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pittsford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States