Cocktail Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
Though I've had these many times, this was the first time I made them myself. I doubled the recipe and took them to a football party and they disappeared! Amazingly delicious, and so easy to make! I used frozen meatballs and extra jelly and chili sauce, so there was enough sauce to sop up with bread after the meatballs were gone! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
Made them in the crockpot for New Years' Eve and they were wonderful - even better the next day! The frozen pre-made meatballs work just as well going to the trouble of making your own, and sometimes even less expensive if you catch a sale! Even with the frozen you still use the same jelly/chili sauce/mustard quantities. Like another reviewer recommended I warmed the sauces in a pan on the stove to get the lumps out of the jelly and make it smooth, then poured it over the meatballs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
My kids loved them and I will make them again. I used them for a large party and they went over very well with the crowd too. Extremely easy, great addition to a buffet. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
Wonderful! Everybody loves these. I used a 4 lb. bag of frozen meatballs, a 32 oz. jar of grape jam, a 12 oz. jar of chili sauce and 2 Tbsp. mustsard and 2 tsp. of liquid smoke. I just heated them on low until they were nice and hot! They will be great in a crockpot too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I too was skeptical about using grape jelly but it turned out great! I added a bit more chili sauce since for it to be a little less sweet. I also used the meatball recipe from Italian spaghetti and meatballs on allrecipes. I also did make the meatballs a bit smaller. Thanks for an easy, delicious recipes. I finally have something to bring to gatherings thats not cheese and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
I went to a party where these were served and couldn't get enough of them! Just the best and nothing less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Red Hat Gal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is just the tastiest appetizer meatball recipe out there. My teen son has friends that request these! I use premade "homestyle" meatballs dumped into a crockpot with the remaining ingredients, and I'm done in literally 4-5 minutes. Not bad for something so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2008
This is an awesome recipe... I have been making variety of this recipe and its always a crowd pleaser! I will be using again this holiday season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Used this recipe as a base for my own simpler and easier way. I used store bought pre cooked frozen meatballs, placed them in the crockpot and used 1 entire squeezable grape jelly and 1 jar chili sauce then placed on high for 1 hour which was perfect. This recipe although modified was still really good and probably much easier than what was listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinrockstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This was very good...because after reading the reviews I tweaked this recipe. I added 1 large clove of garlic(minced), 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the groung beef. It was still a little bland so I sprinkled salt + pepper into the sauce. I also used equal parts chili sauce and jelly. I will make this again and tweak the meatballs a little more. Overall a good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 164) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States