Cocktail Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I use Mamma Lucia frozen meatballs (not the italian kind in the black bag but the ones in the brown bag), one whole bottle of chili sauce and about 12 ounces of grape jelly. I also add already minced garlic that you can find in the grocery store. I don't use the prepared mustard. Slow cooking these is the key. Otherwise, the flavor of the sauce won't infuse in the meatballs. Put in a slow cooker for about 3-4 hours and that's it. I made these for about 50 people at my mom's wedding reception a month ago and they were a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
very yummy and easy. I used frozen meatballs, sugar-free grape jelly (splenda), 1/2 a chopped and sauted onion, and chipotle hot sauce to taste. I like 'em sweet and spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
These were very good. I used frozen Swedish style meatballs from BJ's. They turned out great. I didn't get Italian because some reviews said the flavors don't mix well but these were great. I put them in a crockpot on low for 4 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blue Crab Lover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
We make these for our holiday party and people go nuts. They can't believe they are made with grape jelly. Be prepared to make 5x what you expect to feed the crowd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Alfredson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
These are a big hit anytime that I make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacinta Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
Meatballs were a little tough. Will buy pre-made meatballs next time. Sauce was tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
This was really good sauce. It even tastes better the next day! Kids just love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shalena Gail Cates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I tripled the recipe and took this to a big potluck at work. I LOVED the convenience of baking the meatballs in the oven. Talk about super EASY! I put the meatballs up on a wire rack in a big lined roasting pan, and a great deal of the fat had dripped off (healthier). However, when I made the sauce it had a bit too much mustard bite. So... I added about 2 T. brown sugar and that mellowed it out. Also... the meatballs would have been bland for my taste, so I add a few things to the raw meat prior to shaping the meat balls (salt, garlic powder and some pepper). It turned out wonderful! There was a LOT of food around and there was not ONE meatball left to take home...lol The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that I had to alter the recipe a little ...but I feel it was 5 star once I added a couple extra things. I'd say it was a HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Ridiculously easy...I almost feel guilty bringing this to a potluck because it takes NO time at all. And they are so yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Everyone liked these meatballs and it was a very easy appetizer. I used store bought meatballs which were only OK, but the sauce was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OKIECOOK1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chelsea, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 166) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States