Cocktail Meatballs IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I also recommend adding another tablespoon of chili sauce for every pound ground beef. I do not have a slow cooker, so instead I baked the meatballs at 350 in stoneware for 30 minutes, added the sauce, and baked another 20 minutes. However, I think next time I will only bake them for 20 minutes before adding the sauce. Incidentally, I tried this recipe with grape jelly AND separately with blackberry jelly (because I like blackberry jelly a lot). The blackberry sauce was a little thicker and stuck to the balls better, but was definitely sweeter, so if you want to try it, I suggest going down to 1/2 cup jelly and 3 tbsp chili sauce per pound of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
We thought these were very good. I will say I found the sauce a little sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I made these for christmas last year. I was pressed for time and had never made meatballs so I bought frozen ones. The sauce was amazing. It is so simple it doesnt seem right. I kept these warm in a slow cooker during visiting with family at Christmas. The quick and yummy recipe took away stress from the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mssyann8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Not good. I should have made real meatballs with spices and breadcrumbs and then tried the cocktail sauce. To use plain balls of ground beef...well, I should have known better! I tried one at the party I brought them to, told everyone else that they weren't good, many tried them anyway and no one had a 2nd meatball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
i love these meatballs! i copied another reviewer and used to bottles of chili sauce and 2 squeezable bottles of grape jelly. i also used costco italian meatballs to cut the prep time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by myem1108

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Good flavor but the meatballs turned out dry. Next time I am going to add bread crumbs and see if this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Simple and delicious! I sometimes cheat and use frozen italian meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenwood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Yummy, simple appetizer that everyone enjoys! I used store-bought frozen meatballs, and a whole jar of chili sauce and a jar of reduced-sugar grape jelly. Next time I will use a half or 3/4ths jar of jelly I think. They were a little sweet to me. Otherwise super easy and good! Threw the heated sauce in the crockpot over the meatballs during a Christmas get-together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made these in the crockpot with frozen meatballs. They were great. These will be a sure thing for any parties that I host, especially where drinking is involved since it seems to really help soak up the excess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
I made these for a New Year's Eve party with homemade meatballs (the classic stove-top stuffing recipe, which is a fabulous meatball recipe). I made a quadruple batch of meatballs several weeks ahead, froze them and then on the day of the party just put everything in my crock pot about 3 hours before my quests were due to arrive. This is so easy. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 41-50 (of 167) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States