Cocktail Meatballs III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by RockstarSue
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2015
Sauce is great, but made with 2.5 tablespoons of Worcestershire sauce and 2.5 teaspoons of Frank's Red Hot sauce. I also used 1.5 cups of dark brown sugar. Sauce was delicious and tangy. Also meatballs were flipped after 10 min each in oven. They needed more time than the recipe suggests. I had to keep checking meatballs and putting them back in oven..I also found that the meatballs did not cook properly. They need WAY more time than 10-15 min. I actually had to take the meatballs out after being already immersed in the sauce twice. I took them out, cooked them an additional 10 min and they were still pink in the middle. At that point, I put a half a cup of warm water in sauce and maybe 2 tbsps or so of Half and Half to sauce mixture (in hopes that sauce would boil more in crockpot cooking the meatballs). The warm water and half and half enhanced the flavor of the sauce even more, but did not help in cooking meatballs all the way through. Therefore, I ended up repeating 10 more minutes in the oven, but they were STILL pink in the middle. Finally, I took them out of the crockpot a third time, put them in the oven for 25 more minutes on 400 degrees. They cooked perfectly, so I put them back in the crockpot in sauce on low. I served them at a party, and not one meatball was left. The recipe was fantastic after a lot of "doctoring" which is why I gave it four stars, not five.. With my tweaking, the sauce was tangy and tasty. My eleven year old daughter LOVED these meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RockstarSue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Sandstone, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
these were very good. the sauce is a BBQ style taste, tangy and sweet. the meatballs really have great flavor too. i made these as stated, next time i might add a couple of dashes of tabasco for a little heat to balance the sweet/tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I served this at my fiancé's birthday party and it was the highlight of the party!!! I did, like other reviewers, used frozen meatballs and I tweaked the sauce. Instead of using dry onion soup and half-and-half, I used a couple drops of lime juice, a few shakes of garlic powder and hot sauce. EXCELLENT!!!! It wasn't too hot at all. People are still asking me for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikwa Austin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Farmville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Made this for Super Bowl weekend and was a big hit. Added some garlic and half bottle of amber beer and hot sauce as well. Made some mash potatoes to go with it and was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaR44

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
We're trying to find a great cocktail meatballs recipe...this wasn't it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Davidson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Really easy to make. The meatballs tasted really good. The sauce was pretty much as expected, a little sweeter than I would like but my husband liked them, so I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
I haven't made the sauce yet, but I love the meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used the lazy way, and used pre-made meatballs. The sauce was delish!!!!! Had it for Wii Bowling league and it was all gone so fast. I did add BBQ sauce and used a little less ketchup. Other than that, it was exactly as stated in the receipe. Loved it and so did everyone else!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
I made for a New Year's Eve party & got amazing reviews. They were all gone before I could even try them! I am making again for a baby shower today. I hope to get the same response, but I would like to try a few myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States