Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2004
It was great, a little bit too spicy for me, but my husband loved it. Now it's his new favorite dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Klaipeda, Klaipedos Apskritis, Lithuania
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
Big hit at party - no leftovers! My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cochranton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I adapted this recipe for the crockpot. I used these ingredients, with the addition of fresh parsley from my garden, and baked them in glass dishes at 350 for around 13 minutes. I stored them overnight in the fridge, and the next day, I simmered the meatballs in the crockpot on low with the combined jelly/sauce for about 3 1/2 hours. They were a big hit at the open house for which I was preparing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I've received high praise from people who entertain regularly and take pride in their own preparation of appetizers such as these. I often substitute frozen meatballs when short on time, and on one such occasion I was shocked that a woman who manages a very upscale restaurant in the area made an extra effort to rave about this dish (I was simply hosting a small crowd for a big college football game). I was almost embarrassed to reveal it's simplicity. I usually adjust the recipe to the same sauce ingredients but replace the homemade meatballs w/ caramelized frozen and throw it all in the slow cooker. The handmade meatballs are superior, but I seem to get the same compliments regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very much worth the time to make, a nice use for burger. Much better that pre-made meat balls. Easy to make in advance and then just warm up for later. Good Recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Yum! My mom used to make a recipe like this. I used 4 green onions with the tops in place of the regular onions an parsley because that's what I had. I also added some red pepper flakes to spice it up a little. Will definitely make again, might use less jelly next time as they did turn out pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieanddave

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I have made these meatballs several times - My husband & daughter love them. There is nothing hard at all about the recipe, just takes a little bit of time to roll up all them meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Taking a hint from previous reviews, I baked the meatballs on a lined cookie sheet at 350F for 20 minutes while making the sauce. The meatballs then got dumped into the sauce and simmered for 30 minutes. The texture of the meatballs was perfect, as was the sweet/sour/spicy flavor of the wonderful sauce. Thanks so much, Jordanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I don't know what it is about me but I can never make a recipe exactly as listed. I added lipton onion soup mix instead of the minced onion and crushed saltines instead of the breadcrumbs. For the sauce I added a small amount of garlic powder and increased the lemon juice as I thought it was too sweet. The end result. Wonderful. I made a batch yesterday to freeze for Thanksgiving. My plan didn't work very well. I left the dish on the stove to cool and when I came back all but 3 meatballs mysteriously disapperared! Kids and husband loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This worked out great. Baked meatballs at 375 for 20 minutes. Mixed sauce in crockpot. Tossed cooked meatballs in the crockpot with the sauce, and took to a party. This was the first thing gone. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States