Cocktail Meatballs II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2002
I adapted this recipe for the crockpot. I used these ingredients, with the addition of fresh parsley from my garden, and baked them in glass dishes at 350 for around 13 minutes. I stored them overnight in the fridge, and the next day, I simmered the meatballs in the crockpot on low with the combined jelly/sauce for about 3 1/2 hours. They were a big hit at the open house for which I was preparing them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
This worked out great. Baked meatballs at 375 for 20 minutes. Mixed sauce in crockpot. Tossed cooked meatballs in the crockpot with the sauce, and took to a party. This was the first thing gone. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2004
I've received high praise from people who entertain regularly and take pride in their own preparation of appetizers such as these. I often substitute frozen meatballs when short on time, and on one such occasion I was shocked that a woman who manages a very upscale restaurant in the area made an extra effort to rave about this dish (I was simply hosting a small crowd for a big college football game). I was almost embarrassed to reveal it's simplicity. I usually adjust the recipe to the same sauce ingredients but replace the homemade meatballs w/ caramelized frozen and throw it all in the slow cooker. The handmade meatballs are superior, but I seem to get the same compliments regardless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2002
The sauce is awesome, toooooo much bread crumbs in the meat! I'll cut the bread crumbs in half next time! My 3 year old PICKY nephew twins had seconds! My husband really liked the sauce, just complained about "whatever I put in the meatball that was like bread" my daughter thinks the sauce would be great on chicken, I'll try that also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2001
I have made these meatballs several times - My husband & daughter love them. There is nothing hard at all about the recipe, just takes a little bit of time to roll up all them meatballs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
These meatballs were a huge hit. I made the meatballs the weekend before our party. I doubled the recipe and it made 13 dozen bite-sized meatballs. The sauce was awesome, and several people asked for the recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Randle, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I don't know what it is about me but I can never make a recipe exactly as listed. I added lipton onion soup mix instead of the minced onion and crushed saltines instead of the breadcrumbs. For the sauce I added a small amount of garlic powder and increased the lemon juice as I thought it was too sweet. The end result. Wonderful. I made a batch yesterday to freeze for Thanksgiving. My plan didn't work very well. I left the dish on the stove to cool and when I came back all but 3 meatballs mysteriously disapperared! Kids and husband loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
Taking a hint from previous reviews, I baked the meatballs on a lined cookie sheet at 350F for 20 minutes while making the sauce. The meatballs then got dumped into the sauce and simmered for 30 minutes. The texture of the meatballs was perfect, as was the sweet/sour/spicy flavor of the wonderful sauce. Thanks so much, Jordanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2010
Got a wild craving for this so I made them for dinner. Only change was I used fresh bread-crumbs from a loaf of homemade bread somebody forgot to wrap up properly. HUGE hit. No matter what I thought of them (I loved them) my picky kiddo ate 10 of them and that's 5 stars no matter what!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomZilla (Evin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I used sage sausage and ground chuck. I sauteed a combination of minced garlic and celery. I baked at 350 for 20 minutes on top of foil. My kids were fighting over these!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States