Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
These were a huge hit at my daughter's baby shower. The only change I made was to bake the meatballs instead of frying them. I used 90% ground beef and baked on foil lined cookie sheets. There was almost no grease. I also used Panko bread crumbs. They are far superior to traditional bread crumbs. The meatballs themselves were incredible. This will be my new meatball recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
You can't go wrong with chili sauce and grape jelly. These things are awesome! I used pre-made meatballs, which makes it super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
I loved these. I cheated and used Frozen Foster Farms Turkey Meatballs (about 1/2 bag) from Costco. The sauce was really good. I followed the suggestions of from reviewers and added a little worsteshire sauce, Dijon mustard and whole grain mustard to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by uhall

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nevada City, California, USA
Living In: Irvine, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This recipe is the best. I've made this 3 times for BBQ's and sporting events, and everybody wants me to bring "The Meatballs", it's a hit every time. I had to change up the cooking procedure...I cooked the meatballs in the oven for about 15 to 20 min. then I put the meatballs in a skillet to secure the bond of the meatball and to sear it a little, and then put them in a crockpot for about 3 hours, other than that, this recipe rocks! ThAnX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonezy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
So, one review gave one star because (as they write) they use frozen meatballs from Sam's Club. Haha! No wonder they hated this! Please, if you dont actually follow the recipe and then hate it, then dont review for Pete's sake! The meatball recipe was great, and I cannot imagine the frozen Sam's Club meatballs were any good. My story: made these exactly. Brought them to a cook out in a slow cooker to keep warm. They ended up on the counter in the house where no one ate them... that is not until they were discovered later on. I walked in to a crowd of people chowing down on the meatballs directly from the cooker then dipping in the sauce which I kept on the side. 6 pounds of meatballs (yes folks, 6 lbs!) were devoured in a matter of an hour. Although it was sadly forgotten at first, this dish became the hit of the party and mostly because of the meatball recipe. I now use this recipe as my standard meatball recipe for everything even if I am not making the sauce and instead use the meatballs for something else. So if you're going to make this? Please make sure to use the actual recipe, ok? Do not substitute pre-made meatballs which are generally terrible anyway. This is a great easy meatball recipe and is delicious! Also, I use butter instead of lard, and it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I used frozen meatballs from Sam's Club and made the sauce as written exactly. The meatballs were too sweet and the flavors didn't blend well. I used brand name Grape Jelly & brand named chili sauce. The Grape overpowered the chili sauce. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Very good, easy to use frozen meatballs. Good recipe for a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Basseterre, Saint George Basseterre, Saint Kitts And Nevis
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
These meatballs are delicious! My mother used to make some very similar to these. I made them as the recipe stated and they were a big hit with friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These were the best! I substituted ground turkey and my husband couldn't even tell. He wanted to eat the whole bowl! Great served with toothpicks at a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States