Cocktail Meatballs I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
The combination of ingredients surprised me but this turned out great!! I used frozen meatballs to save time(made for a potluck) and the sauce turned out amazing!! As other reviewers said, I used a little less jelly and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki0638

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Danielson, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Putnam, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are some pretty awesome meatballs. For all those who are using frozen meatballs- you are missing out on some fantastic homemade meatball action. They are deliscous even without the sauce. They are super easy to make. I made the meatballs the day before my party. Instead of frying I baked them in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes. On the day of the party I heated up the chilli sauce and jelly and threw in the meatballs. Fantastic!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
These went over very well for a gathering I took them to. I modified the recipe slightly, but overall stuck to the core of the recipe. I used the frozen meatballs, which worked slick! I did add a couple dashes of hot sauce to kick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
We make them every year as an appetizer for a Christmas Eve party, and they are always gone within minutes. We make them mini sized though...about 45 meatballs. We've used the Crisco to fry, but I'm sure vegetable oil or even baking them is fine! LOVE THESE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I took some of the suggestions that others had previously done (I love that about this site). Used panko bread crumbs, used about 1 1/2 pounds of meat for the same amount of sauce. I only used about 1/4 teaspoon of Worcstershire as I think it can be a little strong. I pan cooked the meatballs in a little bit of canola oil rather than in so much shortening. I also added some garlic powder and onion powder to the sauce mix. After cooking them and simmering them on top of the stove I put them in my slow cooker to take to a clambake. Everyone loved them. My 4 year old at at least 10 meatballs!!! I have a very similar recipe from my mother where she puts the meatballs in the sauce raw and cooks them in the sauce. While it added an extra step to pan cook them I think it really added a nice texture to the meatballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
This recipe is an old standby that is tried and true yummy. But if making meatballs from scratch, you dont need the shortening. Just pan fry and if you want, sprinkle a dab of olive oil in the bottom on a fry pan as you heat up the pan to cook. Also, if you want to spice up the sauce, at 2 tbls of minced garlic, 1/2 teas onion powder and 1-3 teas of red pepper flakes, depending on your heat preference. Its great at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie Tidbitz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winthrop Harbor, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cookeville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Can use almost 2 pounds of ground beef for the amount of sauce. Double ground beef, onion, milk, egg, worcestershire sauce, and pepper. Do not double the breadcrumbs or salt. Bake in the oven until desired doneness (20-30 minutes). Add to crock pot and cook on high for 30 minutes and then low for 1 hour, or until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lina Hershberger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
These are very good. I always double the recipe and freeze half of them for future suppers. They freeze well! I do fry them in the oil because they seem to hold the slow cooker better without falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I have Celiac, so I can't eat any of the meatballs in the grocery stores because they're all made with wheat bread crumbs. I made these with brown rice bread crumbs and they turned out great! I've substitued salsa once when I didn't have any chili sauce on hand and they still turned out great! I prefer apricot jam instead of the grape jelly though - light tasting and doesn't mask the flavour of the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These are really yummy. I used Tabascos Chili starter sauce. I served these at our family Christmas Eve party, and my brother in law was running around saying that I had made " a good a spicy meat a ball" lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Swedish Meatballs

Learn how to make Swedish meatballs for appetizers or as a main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States