Cocktail Birthday Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
gross ... i was expecting so much ... wont be wasting time or ingredients on this again ... so mad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolli

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: College Park, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2011
The first time I made this I followed the directions to a "T". The second time, I modified it to reflect my family's taste and it was a huge hit. I added swiss cheese to the ham layer and provolone to the salami layer. Then, since we don't like curry, I mixed a 50/50 ration of goat cheese and cream cheese with a little garlic powder and onion flakes for the icing. It was awesome@!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
I loved it!!! My guests where a little surprised to find the *cake* tasting savoury. It looked beautyful and people thought it was a lemon cake!!The only change I made was that I used crushed up Pringles to decorate it instead of almonds. When it was cut it looked real pretty too!! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love to cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Sorry but I can only give this 3 stars. I really wanted to give it more but this was not a hit at all last night at my party. I had 11 adults here and only 3 said they liked it. The problem was the curry powder. I even used less than half the amount of curry the recipe called for. Curry is just one of those ingredients where just just never know who will like it and who wont. I would suggest if you make this to leave out the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Photo by hanal
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
smoked and boiled (lighter colour of the two) ham, mini salami stuck in the boiled ham cones, layed on cucumber slices, together with halved trees cut out from cheese slices (xmas shape), salami hearts in parmesan, small butterflies (green – from cucumber and yellow – from cheese slices with a little help from my daughter´s art set cutter) flying above one cherry tomatoe – not quite, actually they are pinned down with toothpicks... spread slightly white sandwich bread slices with cream cheese mixed with grated different kinds of cheese for individual layers, with or without ham or salami, depending on taste of the cheese... (adding tough of dijon mustard or minced garlic according to your – or the honoree´s – taste) sides spread with “the spread”, decorated with grated cheese, adding a row of cherry tomatoes around would look good, he just came too soon... you can be sure – if your honey is carnivorous - you take the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
I made this for a friend whos' diabetic, but happens to LOVE ham sandwiches! It was fun to make- I used mustard to write "Happy Birthday". People were a bit wary of it at first, but it ended up being pretty well recieved. There was a bit too much of the butter- be sure to spread it as thinly as possible. And next time, I'll spice up the cream cheese a bit. Will keep this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This recipe was a hit at a party I hosted recently. No one had any idea it wasn't a real cake until we cut into it, and then my guests had a delicious surprise. I had several requests for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
This recipe has been our family for years and it is still great. This is always a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cocktail Smokies

See how to turn three ingredients into an addictive little sausage appetizer.

How to Make Turkey Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make sweet and spicy cocktail meatballs.

Cocktail Meatballs

See how to make the best party meatballs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States