Cock-A-Leekie Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Balls shaheer......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This was really easy to make, and it was delicious. I made it with chicken thighs rather than a whole chicken, and it worked out just fine. A great winter dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
Added some mushrooms, onions, and celery to this and it turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtnes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Really a yummy, filling, stick to your ribs kind of soup/stew. Made as directed for the most part. I did make my own chicken broth and used that in place of the chicken bouillon. And since this is a chicken soup basically, I felt that it needed much more in the way of spices and herbs other than just salt and pepper. I added bay leaves, thyme, sage, oregano, and parsley to the simmering soup. Also, the water proportions are way off for a cup of barley. I at least doubled or tripled the amount called for and it was fine as a thick soup for dinner. After it sat awhile it still continued to absorb the liquid and is now like a porridge. 2 1/2 stars for the way it's written, 5 stars for taste and tweaks, so 4 stars overall. Relax recipe review police, it's still rated good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
I am kind of strange when it comes to "traditional" recipes, and how to review them. On the one hand, how does the recipe taste? On the other, does it really live up to the name? In this case, we are talking about a very traditional Scottish soup/stew: -a-Leekie. As far as taste goes, it is OK. It isn't a bad chicken stew, but there is nothing particularly exciting. Hence the three out of five stars. BUT... it is NOT a traditional -a-leekie! The carrots are there for the broth, and should be removed before it is served. There are no prunes in this recipe, again a part of the original dish. These may seem like minor problems, but they are vital components to the original. So, is this a good recipe: it's adequate, but it is not a true -a-leekie stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wsf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverdale, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
I made it with brown rice instead of barley and it turned out wonderful. I also used only the tender part of two leeks instead of one full leek. Healthy and tasty. Good one-dish meal to eat at home or to take to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
My son and I enjoyed this recipe but neither of us is crazy about barley. I thought I'd try it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States