Cock a Leekie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2002
Wonderful flavor but I felt it didn't have enough body so I added 5-medium sized potatoes. Annette Jensen- Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2002
This was very good, and easy, but with all the onions and leeks I wouldn't recommend it before a date. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2002
very good soup, my friends loved it. I didn't use quite as much leeks as called for because the leeks I found were quite big. It served 12 people with leftovers, it was a good lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2005
I also add more barley as stated. I like this soup with cubed potaoes and a squeeze of lemon juice. This hit's the spot! I've made it about 5 times now and it comes out wonderful everytime. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
This really good. I will definately make this again. I thought 1/3 cup of barley would not be enough so I increased it to 1/2 cup...it was way too much, I should have followed the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
Added potatoes as well,very nice flavour. The leeks I used were small so the onion flavour was not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2004
We found this soup to be easy to make but on the boring side. OK if you are looking for something heathy, but I wouldn't call it comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greer, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Leeks: Cut off and discard the root area, 1/8" up the white bulb. Slice the leeks as desired, perhaps 1/4". Use as much as 2" of the green. Then wash the slices thoroughly turning them over and over under running water in a colander to get rid of the sand and dirt in which they were grown. It might take 30 minutes to get the leeks clean. This is vital and not warned of in the recipe. We have been served sandy leeks in restaurants. The recipe is strange, since the ingredients list calls for bite-size pieces of boneless thighs but the directions ask us to take the meat off the bones and chop. I was not able to find condensed broth (no such animal). I used boneless breasts since that's what I had to use up. No doubt thighs would have been more flavorful. I also used more celery, thyme and parsley than called for. Next time I will use more barley, and there will be a next time. The result was bland, as one reviewer said, so I added some Bell's and some S&P and served it with a suggestion to add more as needed. Served with cheddar and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I just made this soup for a Robbie Burns supper. I had never heard of it before...but it went over great. I added rice instead of barley ( I don't like barley), and I seasoned the chicken and gave it a quick sear in a frying pan before adding to the water...just for extra flavour. I also added some bacon to the water for flavour ( I strained this out later). The soup was not bland and thickened up nicely. Thanks for a great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Pretty good, but could use to be simmered for a couple hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States