Cock a Leekie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 3, 2012
Great! Super thick! I added red potatoes, a can of corn, extra herbs, and black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBeaver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I make this all the time! We all love it! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
The end result is very tasty. The recipe submitter states that you can sub potatoes for the barley but I chose to use both. I added a couple of red potatoes to give it more heartiness and color. This soup is great if you like leeks. Next time I might even throw in some mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Leeks: Cut off and discard the root area, 1/8" up the white bulb. Slice the leeks as desired, perhaps 1/4". Use as much as 2" of the green. Then wash the slices thoroughly turning them over and over under running water in a colander to get rid of the sand and dirt in which they were grown. It might take 30 minutes to get the leeks clean. This is vital and not warned of in the recipe. We have been served sandy leeks in restaurants. The recipe is strange, since the ingredients list calls for bite-size pieces of boneless thighs but the directions ask us to take the meat off the bones and chop. I was not able to find condensed broth (no such animal). I used boneless breasts since that's what I had to use up. No doubt thighs would have been more flavorful. I also used more celery, thyme and parsley than called for. Next time I will use more barley, and there will be a next time. The result was bland, as one reviewer said, so I added some Bell's and some S&P and served it with a suggestion to add more as needed. Served with cheddar and crackers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Yummy!! I loved this soup when I was younger (5) but never made it. I'm glad I did. I took some of the cooked chicken and veggies and blended it to give the soup a more creamy look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
Very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I just made this soup for a Robbie Burns supper. I had never heard of it before...but it went over great. I added rice instead of barley ( I don't like barley), and I seasoned the chicken and gave it a quick sear in a frying pan before adding to the water...just for extra flavour. I also added some bacon to the water for flavour ( I strained this out later). The soup was not bland and thickened up nicely. Thanks for a great starting recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This was my first experience cooking and eating leeks. I like them! The soup was very good, except that for some reason, I couldn't find thighs at the grocery store and I ended up using breasts. I think the thighs would have given more flavor. Next time, I'll use the right chicken part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary McCarthy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Braintree, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lauryl
Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I thought this was very good. Very comforting and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Irish Bacon and Cabbage Soup

Vegetable soup made decadent with bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States