Cock a Leekie Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
we are used to stronger seasoning so added more s and p and parsley.we like it without potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Excellent Winter Soup. Add 1/4" diced Sweet Potato in the last 1/2 hr of simmer and let cool. Re-heat to boil for 3-5 min. The key to this one is in the stock. Consider a bouquet of fine herbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Very tasty and hearty however I made a few modifications...Firstly, I added 12 cups of water and 3 cans of chicken broth as I found during the first hour of boiling a lot of the liquid evaporated. I also used leftover chicken breast and added left over potatoes and carrots instead of the celery however I added them only for last half hour of cooking since they were already cooked and soft. Lastly, I cut back on the amount of leeks adding only 3 and using only the "white" parts and just a little green. Also cover the pot during the last half hour of boiling to avoid more lost liquid. Otherwise the soup was awesome! My kids loved it and it's nice and filling especially with the addition of potatoes and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Woodbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
I just really like the name..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MeganW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I addressed the 'boring' issue by punching up the herbs - about twice as much - and adding a whackload of salt and pepper. (Keep tasting and adding till you're happy - all that chicken fat NEEDS some seasoning!) Made +/- half-quantity today with what I had on hand: 1.5 lbs. chicken thighs, scant 1/4 C barley, one SMALL (2.5-3 oz) onion, in 3 1/2 C water. Added one LARGE (8 oz) leek, 9 oz. potatoes, 2 oz. chopped celery. Finished it with about 1/3 C half-and-half, which made it richer! I read that some traditional versions finish with an addition of prunes (!) and may try that next time - might taste kind of mulligatawny-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I made this soup for my guild at the Koroneburg Renaissance Festival for one of our late nights. Everyone who tried it loved it, well one person said it would have been better as a thicker stew than a broth soup (I disagree). I did not add barley and instead I added red potatoes, carrots and turnips. I also used boneless skinless chicken thighs to make it a little easier. It fed 10 adults and a couple kids without any leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good, it's a little bland, I added a little more salt and pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
Made this last night and both hubby and I (neither of whom ever ate leeks before) loved it. NOTE: I reduced the quantity to FOUR servings. *Used chicken breasts as that's what I had on hand *Used both barley & potato as another reviewer suggested *Added about 1/2 cup grated carrot w/vegetables for color *Added 1 small "tub" of Knorr's concentrated chicken stock. Very tasty, easy, not too time consuming. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keyboardlady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Wonderful! Sooo goood! It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Add a teaspoon of sour cream to each bowl of soup after serving, you wont regret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mftrejobermejo

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Creamy Italian White Bean Soup

See how to make a healthy Italian-style white bean soup with fresh spinach.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States