Cochinita Pibil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I used a spice mix with anchiote in it - just rubbed it all over the roast before putting it in the slow cooker. I did not make the onions and vinegar mixture. Maybe I'll try it next time. The meat was delicious. I used it in quesadillas - MMMMMM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
After a frustrating search around town for Achiote paste, I did a computer search and it led me right back to this web-site for a recipe to make your own! This was delicious! My kids loved it without the onion sauce. My husband and I preferred it with it. We both kept going back for just one more bite.... I served it in tortillas with homemade guacamole, but after one yummy wrap, we just ate it plain. Thanks for a very different and wonderful recipe! I will make this again and again -- a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is to die for!!!!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
FANTASTIC- Already planning it for when company comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
At first I was a little intimidated by the number of ingredients but this recipe turned out to be easier than it looked. This dish was great but I used an achiote oil made by heating, not boiling, the achiote seeds in sunflower oil on the stove for ten minutes. This gives a great red colored oil and is easier to use than the paste. The rest of the recipe remained the same. This oil can also be used for the rice, just put a teaspoon in with the water! I Will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Excellent!! Absolutely authenic. So easy to make and so Yummy!!!!!!!!Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JORDANNATHAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2005
This is VERY EASY!! I know my family doesnt care for HOT, so I used canned jalipeno's (sp?) instead of the habanero's. The house smelled SO good all day....everyone loved it. We put it on rolls, with carmalized onion over top!! Ive been wanting a good pork, spanish recipe!!! THANKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
try it and you'll see!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
We loved this recipe! My relatives said it was the best roast pork they ever had. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Made this the other day and invited a couple of friends over to enjoy it with me and my boyfriend. Used the exact ingredients specified in the recipe - achiote paste is easy to find in San Diego CA ;), marinated overnight, placed in a slow cooker on low the next morning then came home to a wonderful meal at the end of the workday! Everyone LOVED it and agreed that it tasted just like the dish served at Casa Guadalajara in Old Town. Served with Mexican rice, flour tortillas, mango salsa and lime slices. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLASTRA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States