Cochinita Pibil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
I am only rating this so that no one else will make the mistake that I made. I am sure the author of the recipe meant well, but the advice about cooking at "200 degrees for four or five hours" does not work!!! The meat was not cooked; I had to throw it in the crock pot to finish it off. The marinade and sauce are delicious, but please do not cook it at 200 degrees; cook it at 325 degrees as the original idea states!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chynna-Destiny

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Jackson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2003
At first I was a little intimidated by the number of ingredients but this recipe turned out to be easier than it looked. This dish was great but I used an achiote oil made by heating, not boiling, the achiote seeds in sunflower oil on the stove for ten minutes. This gives a great red colored oil and is easier to use than the paste. The rest of the recipe remained the same. This oil can also be used for the rice, just put a teaspoon in with the water! I Will certainly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
A bit different than other versions of this dish I have eaten, but really tasty nonetheless. It is perhaps a bit on the tart side, and I may consider altering the lemon-orange juice ratio a bit the next time I make it. I used the slow cooker method and the meat was moist and tender. I thickened the roasting liquids (marinade) with a bit of cornstarch and water and this made a really delicious sauce to ladle on top of filled tortillas at the option of the diners. I will definately be making this again. It was a hit with my entire family, including my kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
After a frustrating search around town for Achiote paste, I did a computer search and it led me right back to this web-site for a recipe to make your own! This was delicious! My kids loved it without the onion sauce. My husband and I preferred it with it. We both kept going back for just one more bite.... I served it in tortillas with homemade guacamole, but after one yummy wrap, we just ate it plain. Thanks for a very different and wonderful recipe! I will make this again and again -- a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I was most disappointed with this recipe. Instead of the succulent and savory dish I know from Mexico, I got a bland, but tender pork roast. The use of so much lemon juice gave the gravy an overpowering and identifiable citric taste, while leaving out essential elements. Further research on the recipe has led me to include allspice and cinnamon and some garlic. I see this recipe as absolutely unauthentic and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marked Tree, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2003
FANTASTIC- Already planning it for when company comes over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
This is to die for!!!!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
"Nothing Special. Just happens to be my favorite." Needs tequila in the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by damitWS6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Diamond Bar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious and tasty. Made it in the slow cooker. Required a bit of sugar and a fair bit of salt to even out the strong citrus and achiote tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
It wasn't as flavorful as I'd hoped, but it's probably my own fault because 1. I substituted jalapenos for habaneros, fearing it would be too hot, 2. I forgot to marinate it, 3. I chose not to make and use the achiote, but instead put in the equivalent amount of loose spices (omitting the anatto because I didn't want to have to grind it). It *was* very tasty in quesadillas, but as I say was just a bit too bland, even for my cooking group (which has a lot of families with preschoolers in it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States