Cochinita Pibil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious and tasty. Made it in the slow cooker. Required a bit of sugar and a fair bit of salt to even out the strong citrus and achiote tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA
Photo by jessitlv
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
Not spicy at all! I didn't make the onions in vinegar. My husband chopped the meat up to make tacos and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Do not be intimidated by the Habaneros, it is actually not that spicy at the end and it needs the kick. I used a 5 pound pork butt roast w/bone. I used 2/3 cup orange juice and 2/3 cup lemon juice, used heaping teaspoons of the spices, added minced garlic. Marinated it overnight and cooked it in crockpot. I used the meat in tacos, thickened the juices with cornstarch to spoon over the meat, topped it with chopped red onion, guacamole and cheese. It was heavenly!!! The flavors were fantastic. A new delicious addition to my regular mexican recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanNeeNer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carson, California, USA
Living In: Buckeye, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This was a good recipes. But I think I did something wrong. I know for sure it needed more salt. I probably will make again but not in the near future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Brownsville, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
This recipe was o.k., but was definitely missing something. I had a wonderful recipe from a friend in Mexico which I unfortunately lost. I'm still looking for a suitable replacement recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
We had this wonderful dish in Mexico on our honeymoon and loved it. This is just as I remember it. I think the step that is missing from the recipe is, after pulling the pork apart, re-incorporate some of the juices left in the pan, not all of them, just to your liking. The way we had it in Mexico was a sandwich. The onions were red, but raw and on the side, as well as with sliced jalepenos. So we put it on bread with the jalepenos and raw onion and it was exact. I did mix some of the onions and red wine vinegar, but didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
Simply the best! My husband is from Mexico and he's asked me to make this at least once a month from now on. Due to lack of sour oranges, the taste is only slightly off, however using limes along with the orange juice helped quite a bit. I made this in a slow cooker for 6hours on high and it came out perfect. The rest of the sauce I reduced in a pot on the stove so we could use it in our tacos. Amazing. Thanks for sharing this one, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Very authentic, I just added garlic and put it in a crock pot for about 8 hrs. I was unable find the achiote paste, so I purchased the whole seed. Don't do it try to find the past, because I had to pound on those seeds with a hammer for hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEB1

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I was most disappointed with this recipe. Instead of the succulent and savory dish I know from Mexico, I got a bland, but tender pork roast. The use of so much lemon juice gave the gravy an overpowering and identifiable citric taste, while leaving out essential elements. Further research on the recipe has led me to include allspice and cinnamon and some garlic. I see this recipe as absolutely unauthentic and boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marked Tree, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
In a word: WOW. I am not usually a big fan of pork but this dish was too tasty to pass up. I only had boneless ribs on hand so I followed the marinade recipe and let cook all day in the crock pot. Served on corn tortillas with salsa & guacamole and a side of black beans. My prep and serving may not be authentic, but it was so good there was none left after dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALEASTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morehead City, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Taqueria-Style Tacos (Carne Asada)

See how to make authentic taqueria-style beef tacos.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States