Cochinita Pibil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
My boys love it. My sister loves it. My mom loves it. My dad loves it. You have no idea how rare that is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I used a very lean pork sirloin roast cut into 1-2" cubes and cooked it at 325 F. for 3 hours, 2 of them covered, one uncovered. It came out tasty but very dry because the meat was so lean. The recipe needs a fattier shoulder roast. The recipe I followed is called "Cochinita Pibil, the easy way." I also followed the "Pickled Red Onions for Cochinita Pibli" recipe but substituted 2/3 cup orange juice and 1/3 cup lime juice for the liquids in that recipe and left out the Habanero chile pepper. The onions added a nice crunch and the liquid a nice flavour to the pork. I served them both over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
This was delicious. I received a bunch of Seville oranges and then looked up what I could do with them. This recipe came up. I'm so glad it did, this was amazing. My husband doesn't like pork, but this was so delicious and flavorful that he came back for seconds. Yummy and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eden, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
This recipe was AMAZING. So simple and turned out delicious! I made a few adjustments...couldn't find achiote paste, but I found it powdered. So I mixed that with water and rubbed it on the pork. I used 2/3 orange juice and 1/3 lemon juice. Also couldn't find habeneros so I used jalepenos instead. Cooked it in the slow cooker for 6 hours, then reduced the braising liquid a bit and poured it over the shredded pork. Served with home made corn tortillas, fresh cilantro and pickled red onions. I had the onions from another recipe so I used those instead of making a new batch, and just topped my tacos with it instead of pouring over all of the pork. It was juicy, savory, rich and FANTASTIC! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This was a pretty good recipe. I liked the marinade, but prefer to use a dry rub when roasting. I did low and slow in the oven. Pork was very tender, but was a little bland for me. However... those onions we're great! I would've never made onions like this, and I can't believe how good they were. When you combine them with the pork, it was very good. Solid recipe... will use again, just with more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Awesome flavorful dish! However, I skipped the marinating step and just threw it all in the crock pot for 8hrs. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This Yucatan style pork is so flavorful - and not too spicy hot for us! I marinated the pork overnight and cooked it in the crock pot for 8 hours, then served it on corn or flour tortillas. I never made the red vinegar sauce because it was plenty juicy already. Yummy leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2011
This is a good recipe as is. However, if you replace 1/3 cup of the lime juice with a 1/3 cup of pineapple juice, in my opinion, its better. The pineapple juice gives a nice undertone of sweetness that plays well off of the mild heat of the habanero pepper. TIP: LET THIS MARINATE AT LEAST 8 HOURS. THE ACID IN THE FRUIT JUICES HELPS BREAK DOWN THE CONNECTIVE TISSUES IN THE MEAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RyLi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Following up the comment by Chynna-Destiny, she's right. When I BBQ a pork butt at about 220 degrees, it takes from 10 to 14 hours to get falling-off-the-bone cooked. Four hours at 200F will not get the job done. It's possible a 2-3 pound pork loin would cook in that short of a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony Dadd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Delicious and tasty. Made it in the slow cooker. Required a bit of sugar and a fair bit of salt to even out the strong citrus and achiote tang.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merrittorious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bainbridge Island, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Real Homemade Tamales

These authentic Mexican tamales are rich and satisfying.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

How to Make Chicken Enchiladas

See how to make authentic chicken enchiladas in a flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States