Cobb Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I travel frequently and often have Cobb Salads when I do - on planes, in restaurants, hotels and even from grocery stores. I love a good Cobb Salad, but I never much paid attention to what I know is a classic list of ingredients. So glad to find this recipe here, and this is quite easily the best Cobb Salad I've ever had anywhere, probably because I controlled the ingredients, their quality and their freshness. I stuck to the ingredients as written as, again, I recognize them to be critical to an authentic Cobb Salad. I did, however, make my own Buttermilk Ranch Dressing. This was an ideal dinner to make for myself since Hubs is out of town and he would have never eaten this in a million years - well, not with the Blue cheese anyway. My tummy is happy. (Tip: Penzey's Spices makes a seasoning blend called "Buttermilk Dressing and Dip" which makes a quick but awesome ranch dressing! I don't even use buttermilk - just sour cream, mayo and half and half to desired thickness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
298 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
Hmmm....Ranch dressing and iceberg? Now that's a first for me, including the reviewer who said that thousand island was the only way to go. However, who cares if it's not the "original" recipe; if it tastes good, eat it! I prefer a mixture of romaine and butter lettuce with a dressing consisting of red wine vinegar, olive oil (which I drizzle in slowly to emulsify) dijon mustard, chopped fresh chives and crumbled blue cheese. Any way you decide to make this salad with whatever dressing, it will always be a hit. Thanks so much Mr. Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
229 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Delicious salad!! I usually don't like vegetables or salad, but I ate this salad every day for lunch until it was gone. Will def. make again. UPDATE: I always buy rotisserie chicken and crumbled gorgonzola cheese from the grocery store so that I can put this salad together quickly. I also use home-made ranch dressing II (from this site) and it makes this salad even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Delicious!! Delicious!! Delicious!! I omitted the green onions (just don't like them) and added some canned peas and black olives. Used the Ranch (despite the controversy going on about what dressing to use) and wouldn't have it any other way. I think it's all about the Ranch you choose to use. I used Marie's Creamy Ranch (found in the produce isle) and experienced heaven for a short while!! Try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Since it was way too hot to cook tonight this salad was perfect! Plus I was able to use up some left over grilled chicken. Talk about a win - win situation! Not to mention it has three of my husband's favorite things - hard boiled eggs, bacon, and ranch dressing. This salad was cool, crisp, and full of great tasting ingredients. I've always ordered Cobb Salad's out, but it's nice to make this at home. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
I use feta instead of blue cheese for a milder taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENN_77

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by TAGAGA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2007
I love ordering Cobb Salad at restaurants but the fresh salad at home was even more fabulous. I put some boneless chicken breast in a garlic flavored italian dressing in the morning and threw them on the grill while chopping up all the other ingredients. This one is a bit time-consuming in the prep department but the finished product is well worth it. Tasty and a beautiful presentation with all the colors and textures!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAGAGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe! To make it better, use Bleu Cheese Dressing. Deelish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
We really enjoyed this salad! The kids are off of school today, & wanted to go to one of those buffet places (in which all they eat is a salad anyway & why pay $20 when I had all the ingredients on hand..even the blue cheese). I did use 1/2 iceberg & 1/2 spinich (uncooked), & used left over turkey, it's delicious! OOPS, I forgot to mention to the kids that there is blue cheese in it & they never even noticed ;) Thanks Bill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2005
What a delicious salad! The BEST!!! What's not to love? From somebody who's idea of a salad is onions on a hamburger. This is AWESOME delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cobb Salad

This classic main-dish salad stars eggs, crispy bacon, chicken, and avocadoes.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

BLT Salad

Croutons, crispy bacon, and a creamy dressing! This salad has the BLT beat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States