Coal Miners Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2000
smothered in rich beef gravy GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
Excellent, We love this recipe, it's simple and good tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Borger, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queenoffun
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This recipe came out great! Cooked perfectly; very nice flakey crust with a beautifully moist meat/vegetable interior. Only compliant is there was a lot of leftover veggies. Next time I'll only use 3 potatoes, 1 large turnip and 1 onion. See Time Life American Cooking: Eastern Heartland cookbook, which has photos on how to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
Fantastic .. will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rawlins, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is my favorite dish! I made it when I was in the military and it was an instant success with everyone. They last forever and taste great at room temp. The juices stay where they are and the pastie shell is the perfict blend of flavors to mix with the vege meat mix. I ate 3 of them when I made it the 1st time :-) I just couldnt stop. All in all a definate Yum Yum dish thats perfict for lunches and hiking trips and camping due to the fact it doesnt need to be heated to taste good. Just keep the shell from breaking and letting the juices out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Everyone in the family loved this recipe, which is VERY rare. I made the following changes: Parsnips instead of turnips (what I had on hand). Fresh ground garlic pepper instead of regular fresh ground pepper. No added salt in the filling; it was salty enough with just the salt from the pastry and the garlic pepper - I couldn't imagine a whole extra tablespoon. I also chopped in some scallions and fresh parsley from the garden. I had quite a bit of extra filling and just baked that in a covered pan for leftovers. I agree with another reviewer that this makes a lot - only someone with a very hearty appetite could eat a whole one. Rave reviews all around the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These are excellent. I was born and raised in northern Wisconsin and my dad worked in northern Michigan for 10 years so we are very familiar with pasties. I make mine with ground chuck, carrots, onions, red potatoes, and rutabega. I also use the refrigerated Pillsbury pie crust (not the frozen Pet-Ritz kind) which makes them quick and easy to make and they still taste great. Now living in Texas with my Texas-born husband, he insists I add chili power and cumin to the filling. So nontraditional, but it's still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used to live in SD and would get pasties at King's Grocery across from the Homestake gold mine in Lead. This recipe is the closest I have ever made to their recipe. Wonderful! For breakfast try adding scrambled eggs, crumbled bacon and hash browns. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
my grandmother made these pasties back in the early 1920's. they grew there own veggies and meat so she was not out much. i remember her telling me about her making these and selling them to men that were working on FDR's reconstruction project here in alabama. i am so glad that you came up with is recipe because if have lost her original recipe she gave me. grandmother was the one who taught me to cook beginning when i was three and old enough to stand on a chair and stir ingredients in a bowl. i guess many of the older ladies can tell stories just like mine. i know when i was in high school and my sewing and cooking teacher was in awe because i already knew how to sew and cook. i hope you put more recipes from the 1920's and 1930's online so we can review and see if we can make them more healthy for todays lifestyle. mary king marob_532, ashville alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pasties has been a staple in my husband's (Southern) family for decades. It has become our Christmas Eve dinner tradition for several years now. We don't add the turnips but would not be opposed to it. We do however add "several" (the more the better) pats of butter with the meat etc. It makes it nice & juicy & makes the meat more tender. My husband is the pastie maker & it's wonderful. We always serve Mrs. Renfrow's Chow Chow with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Italian Beef Sandwiches

See how to make tender Italian beef sandwiches with au jus.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States