Coal Miners Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This recipie was pretty good and enjoyed by the family, however, I would recommened that you make up some beef gravy or other sauce to go with it. By itself it is tasty, but a little plain. Also, this recipie makes A LOT, as the pasties are very large. One pastie could feed 2 people, especially kids. I browned my beef first just to form a slight crust on the beef, and I also added about a tablespoon of flour to the beef mixture before baking to thicken up the juices a bit. Next time I'd try addind garlic powder to the beef to see if that makes it a little more flavorful. Thanks for the recipie, Kevin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
NB: A word to the wise - if you are visiting England, and want to experience a really decent Cornish pastie (this recipe barely hints at the gastronomic delights you can encounter there), you MUST get a pastie at Stein's deli, Padstowe (they are a tad spendy but they really are worth it), or Pronto Pastie, almost any place in the West Country. Also, for the most delightful cream teas and scones (scones are like biscuits but they come with clotted cream and strawberry jam) visit any of the tea shops at Boscastle - a pot of tea for 2 plus 2 fist-sized scones and jam and cream will set you back about $6! Boscastle is a truly beautiful, breath-taking fishing village, and you won't be disappointed!) ANYWAY, the pasties in this recipe were alright. I have eaten enough Cornish pasties in Cornwall to know a good one when I see it (or taste a good one when I taste it??), and this wasn't it really. The pastry was ok, though I much prefer a puff-pastry shell. The innards were dry and pretty tasteless, despite the fact I added A LOT of freshly-ground pepper, which is how traditional pasties are supposed to be... I suspect that good Cornish pasties can only be found it Cornwall....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These are excellent. I was born and raised in northern Wisconsin and my dad worked in northern Michigan for 10 years so we are very familiar with pasties. I make mine with ground chuck, carrots, onions, red potatoes, and rutabega. I also use the refrigerated Pillsbury pie crust (not the frozen Pet-Ritz kind) which makes them quick and easy to make and they still taste great. Now living in Texas with my Texas-born husband, he insists I add chili power and cumin to the filling. So nontraditional, but it's still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2000
These are close to the pasties I grew up with... My mother always just made regular pie pastry and used rutabega instead of turnip and white pepper... They are great hot, warm, cold or fried (if there are any leftovers)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
Grew up on my mom's pasties. We use Round Steak & Pork shoulder. Carrots, Ohion, Potato. Always eat them with ketchup. I'm not so good at the pastry but found that Pillsbury Pie Crust-in the red box is exactly the same taste as mom's crust. Always moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
This is my favorite dish! I made it when I was in the military and it was an instant success with everyone. They last forever and taste great at room temp. The juices stay where they are and the pastie shell is the perfict blend of flavors to mix with the vege meat mix. I ate 3 of them when I made it the 1st time :-) I just couldnt stop. All in all a definate Yum Yum dish thats perfict for lunches and hiking trips and camping due to the fact it doesnt need to be heated to taste good. Just keep the shell from breaking and letting the juices out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by queenoffun
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
This recipe came out great! Cooked perfectly; very nice flakey crust with a beautifully moist meat/vegetable interior. Only compliant is there was a lot of leftover veggies. Next time I'll only use 3 potatoes, 1 large turnip and 1 onion. See Time Life American Cooking: Eastern Heartland cookbook, which has photos on how to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
This was my first attempt to make pasties. My husband is used to the Upper MI Finnish pasties and this one was pretty close. I used shortening for the crust instead of lard since I had it on hand and it made the crust a little too dry. I also used rutabaga instead of turnips and it added a great flavor. The meat was probably too lean so be careful what cut you buy. Next time I will add carrots which most UP MI ones have. Overall I was very pleased with my first attempt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelby, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2004
nice recipe although a little too dry. Top round is the wrong cut here - you want a cheap fatty cut which will help the moisture level. Puff pastry as one reviewer suggests is not at all authentic. Although of course if you like it, by all means. YTou can get authentic pasties around the old Cornish mining towns in Southwest Wisconsin (around Cassville)...good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2000
smothered in rich beef gravy GREAT!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States