Coal Miners Pasties Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Pasties has been a staple in my husband's (Southern) family for decades. It has become our Christmas Eve dinner tradition for several years now. We don't add the turnips but would not be opposed to it. We do however add "several" (the more the better) pats of butter with the meat etc. It makes it nice & juicy & makes the meat more tender. My husband is the pastie maker & it's wonderful. We always serve Mrs. Renfrow's Chow Chow with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
my grandmother made these pasties back in the early 1920's. they grew there own veggies and meat so she was not out much. i remember her telling me about her making these and selling them to men that were working on FDR's reconstruction project here in alabama. i am so glad that you came up with is recipe because if have lost her original recipe she gave me. grandmother was the one who taught me to cook beginning when i was three and old enough to stand on a chair and stir ingredients in a bowl. i guess many of the older ladies can tell stories just like mine. i know when i was in high school and my sewing and cooking teacher was in awe because i already knew how to sew and cook. i hope you put more recipes from the 1920's and 1930's online so we can review and see if we can make them more healthy for todays lifestyle. mary king marob_532, ashville alabama
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I used to live in SD and would get pasties at King's Grocery across from the Homestake gold mine in Lead. This recipe is the closest I have ever made to their recipe. Wonderful! For breakfast try adding scrambled eggs, crumbled bacon and hash browns. I will be making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
This has always been a favorite. Although I make it with ground beef and it is never dry. I also didn't use turnips, just ground beef, onion and chopped/sliced potatoes. Since I had a big family I made it often in a pie plate. After slices were cut some topped it with gravy, chili sauce or ketchup. I alsways liked my plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BDennis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
My family is from the anthracite coal region of Pennsylvania, and my grandmother would make them for us. She came from such a large family that they used hamburger instead of steak and my great-grandmother made them in the form of a pie rather that the traditional folded-over version. Regardless, they are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sister-woman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
delicious filling. i added sautéed onion and garlic. Pastry was a disaster. Too flaky. barely held together and had a funny taste. I grew up on pie crust with butter or vegetable shortening and it is much easier to work with.i will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
These are excellent. I was born and raised in northern Wisconsin and my dad worked in northern Michigan for 10 years so we are very familiar with pasties. I make mine with ground chuck, carrots, onions, red potatoes, and rutabega. I also use the refrigerated Pillsbury pie crust (not the frozen Pet-Ritz kind) which makes them quick and easy to make and they still taste great. Now living in Texas with my Texas-born husband, he insists I add chili power and cumin to the filling. So nontraditional, but it's still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Everyone in the family loved this recipe, which is VERY rare. I made the following changes: Parsnips instead of turnips (what I had on hand). Fresh ground garlic pepper instead of regular fresh ground pepper. No added salt in the filling; it was salty enough with just the salt from the pastry and the garlic pepper - I couldn't imagine a whole extra tablespoon. I also chopped in some scallions and fresh parsley from the garden. I had quite a bit of extra filling and just baked that in a covered pan for leftovers. I agree with another reviewer that this makes a lot - only someone with a very hearty appetite could eat a whole one. Rave reviews all around the table!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2009
I thought these had a lot to them but they were kind of bland without something to dip them in. Next time i think I will add more seasoning and more veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayleigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
This is an awesome recipe. Best served with gravy, melted cheese & sour cream. This will be a regular item on my menu. However I think the dough has a better taste if you subsitute the lard with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Coney Island Hot Dogs

See how to make America’s favorite beefy hot dog condiment.

Country-Style Steak

See how to make Southern chicken-fried steak with gravy.

Chicago-Inspired Italian Beef Sandwich

It’s Chef John’s tasty take on a classic Chicago-style beef sandwich.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States