Cloggers' Delight Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was fantastic! I did cut down on the dressing ingredients: used 1/8 cup oil (I prefer sunflower oil), 3 Tbl. vinegar (I prefer rice vinegar), and 3 Tbl. sugar. I think the dressing in this recipe is missing a key ingredient - the Ramen seasoning packet - be sure and add it to the oil, vinegar, and sugar mixture. Note that it really makes a difference to toast the almonds and sunflower seeds before adding them. I like to let the salad sit for a few hours in the refrigerator so that the cabbage wilts a little, the noodles hydrate, and the flavors meld, then I add the almonds and sunflower seeds just before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Real yummy recipe - everybody loves it but I do have some variations. Make it easy for yourself & buy the bag of coleslaw already pre-chopped. It has carrots too which adds some color. I do not use butter to toast nuts as you don't need it - they have their own natural oils. But they cook fast, so don't walk away. I used 1/3C oil, 4T vinegar & 3T sugar along w/ 2 seasoning packets from the Ramen noodles. This is a great side dish for a summer BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2007
I loved this salad, only I made it with the Broccoli Slaw that you can buy pre-shredded, it kept crisper than I think the shredded cabbage would, and tasted even better the next day, I also added the Ramen Noodle seasoning packet with the vinegar/oil mix and used sesame oil because it adds great flavor to any salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TERRIS911

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Great quick salad. A favorite for potlucks. I use 1/4 cup oil and the creamy chicken Ramen noodle package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a good one-I use coleslaw mix, chicken flavored ramen noodles, and sesame seeds instead of sunflower seeds. I toast the sesame seeds, broken noodles and nuts and then add them in right before serving. I also blend the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles into the dressing mixture for extra flavor. There's never a bite left-the bowl is always licked clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
I would use less oil next time. I also used the seasoning packet included with the noodles to flavor the dressing. To make this recipe even quicker I will use a packaged cole slaw mix next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Tasty, crunchy salad that has good flavor. I made with green cabbage and purple cabbage as that is what I had on hand. Thanks Angie for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Very good! I used bag of slaw mix and chicken ramen. I put seasoning packet in with oil and vinegar. Everyone liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
I only used about half the amount of oil recommended and also added the spice pack from the Ramen noodles. I tasted and added more vinegar and sugar until it tasted just the way I wanted. I wait until serving time to add the almonds, sesame seeds, and Ramen noodles as I like them to be crunchy. It was a hit at a family get together and I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I love this salad. I toasted the broken ramen, almonds and sunflower seeds before adding to the salad. It doesn't keep very well and becomes soggy so keep the dressing and salad ingredients separate until ready to serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli and Ramen Noodle Salad

Crunchy, savory and sweet combination of broccoli, ramen noodles, seeds, and nuts

Simple Pasta Salad

A quick and easy salad with rotini pasta and vegetables.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States