Cloggers' Delight Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
used prepacked slaw mix. also put the seasoning packets in the dressing. I didn't use all the oil called for either.. i just add oil as I whisked the other ingredients, stopping to taste.. I can't say how much I did use in the end. NOTE: the green onions are the KEY in this recipe if you ask me.. I made it the first time w/out any, as i didn't have any and needed to use the pkg'd slaw up fast.. it was ok, but missing that certain zing. Next time, i made sure i had green onions, and that made all the difference!!! ps- oriental flavored spice packets made the best tasting dressing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Granzow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
SO good and SO easy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hudson, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Real yummy recipe - everybody loves it but I do have some variations. Make it easy for yourself & buy the bag of coleslaw already pre-chopped. It has carrots too which adds some color. I do not use butter to toast nuts as you don't need it - they have their own natural oils. But they cook fast, so don't walk away. I used 1/3C oil, 4T vinegar & 3T sugar along w/ 2 seasoning packets from the Ramen noodles. This is a great side dish for a summer BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jan Heatley Raymondi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holly Springs, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
This is simple to make and is always a big hit at parties. Someone is always looking for the recipe. Doesn't sound like it would be good, but it's delicious. i usually make it a few hours in advance so the flavors have time to mingle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
not the one i was looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJOYNLIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
Loved it! And toasting the seeds, etc. was key as others said. I reserved some of this for the leftovers I anticipated to added on fresh crunchies the next day for a great leftover salad too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
This is a good one-I use coleslaw mix, chicken flavored ramen noodles, and sesame seeds instead of sunflower seeds. I toast the sesame seeds, broken noodles and nuts and then add them in right before serving. I also blend the seasoning packet from the ramen noodles into the dressing mixture for extra flavor. There's never a bite left-the bowl is always licked clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Love this! Saw something similar on tv and thought it would be a nice change. I used two bags of broccoli slaw mix which really makes it crunchy, and kept the dressing amounts the same. I did add the ramen spice packets as has been suggested, and a little more rice vinegar than called for. I also added a little cajun spice and some soy sauce. Skipped the almonds, but I did toast the sunflower seeds with the dry ramen and some sesame seeds before adding. The chopped green onions really add to the flavors too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2007
This was fantastic! I did cut down on the dressing ingredients: used 1/8 cup oil (I prefer sunflower oil), 3 Tbl. vinegar (I prefer rice vinegar), and 3 Tbl. sugar. I think the dressing in this recipe is missing a key ingredient - the Ramen seasoning packet - be sure and add it to the oil, vinegar, and sugar mixture. Note that it really makes a difference to toast the almonds and sunflower seeds before adding them. I like to let the salad sit for a few hours in the refrigerator so that the cabbage wilts a little, the noodles hydrate, and the flavors meld, then I add the almonds and sunflower seeds just before serving. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
With or without modifications suggested below, this is a great side salad that gets rave reviews whenever served. We like to use chinese "chow mein noodles" instead of ramen noodles, but either one is terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States