Clinton's Special Vegetarian Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2003
This is a fabulous recipe!!!! I made it using filo pastry instead of puff pastry. I sprayed a 10" quiche dish with olive oil then lined it with 3-4 sheets of filo. I sprayed on more olive oil (brushing it on) and applied another 3 layers or so of filo. I sprayed the filo again and turned the ends of filo that hung over the dish into the dish. I checked one last time to ensure that the last layer was lightly sprayed everywhere (top and sides) and baked it at 400 F for 10 minutes. I also used one package of frozen spinach which I thawed by putting in the skillet with 4 T of water. I cooked it over medium heat only until it was thawed to not destroy the nutrients. I then put the spinach in a sieve to drain pressing down lightly to extract as much water as possible. I didn't puree it. I just added it with the nutmeg to the egg mixture. I used 1% cottage cheese which I also drained (somewhat) in a sieve. I sauteed the onions in olive oil instead of butter. One large tomato thinly sliced will yield one layer over the onions--that's what I used. The rest I did according to the recipe. It looked great, was very quick to make and boy, did it go over well with both my vegetarian and non-vegetarian guests!! This recipe will become the family favorite!!! Many thanks, Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
This is really called "Prisnajac", it is from Italy, and normaly does not use the puff pastery, but the add off the crust makes it VERY nice...For people looking for a low carb style, I go with 4 eggs, 1 pound, cottage cheese, 1/2 stick butter, 1 pkg frozen spinach and 1 log of Crackle Barrel Yellow Cheddar, Defrost the spinach, and squeeze dry!!!, chop up, cup up cheese in chunks, mix everything together, season with salt, pepper, garlic, onion powder, nutmeg....but I DONT add any Whole onions or tomatoes, dump everything into a oiled with oilve oiled 8x8 pan and bake for 1 hour till set... Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2002
Very tasty. I used a package of frozen chopped spinach, three eggs and 3/4 cup cottage cheese. Used only 1 sheet puff pastry and made a 9" pie. Never thought of using puff pastry for a crust. I make quiches often and now have a quick solution when I'm too busy to make pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2000
This was really good. Time consuming but simple and worth it. My two kids (9 and almost 8) didn't rave but ate it. This is high praise from my picky eaters. The 200 temperature isn't high enough to cook in the specified time. I will up it to 250-300 next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
I adjusted this recipe a little since I'm on a pretty restricted diet. I'm not permitted to have dairy products, or refined flour products so I substituted Extra firm Tofu (drained and crumbled) for the cottage cheese, instead of the fresh tomatoes, I substituted sun dried tomatoes, and used olive oil instead of the butter. I omitted the puff pastry (although I would have loved to have it) and I opted to have a nice salad on the side. Making this a tasty and filling meal. The next time I make this, I'll opt to scale back just a tad on the nutmeg. I'll be making this one again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I made this recipe in mini puff-pastry shells for a brunch. I received so many compliments, and requests for this recipe. Thank you so much! This was absolutely delicious! Even my kids who don't like spinach ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excellent recipe! I've made this a few times now! Though the first time, I didn't blind bake the crust properly...not knowing exactly what that meant! But now I know to add dried beans to keep the pastry in place while baking! My vegetarian boyfriend was very happy with this! He thought it was unusually light for a quiche and I agree! I even made this for Thanksgiving for him to go along with my Roasted Turkey Breast! It's something I'd make only on weekends or special days...definitely not a busy working mom/weeknight kind of recipe...but overall very, very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skatkat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2008
Tried using phyllo dough- the crust came out soggy. Definitely use a pie crust and mix sauteed onions in with egg mix (after they've cooled)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
I made this for a party and everyone raved over it. Especially my sister-in-law who is a vegetarian and has a hard time finding quality recipes without meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
The only thing I did outside of the recipe was add a little bit of red pepper (needed to use it up). Excellent recipe - husband hates spinach but he ate two big helpings of this quiche. Will make again. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Moody, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Meatless Stuffed Peppers

Peppers are filled with rice, veggies, and feta cheese.

Vegetarian Stuffed Peppers

See how to make a hearty vegetarian main course.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States