Cliff's Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is how I make my salsa and I love it. The people who said it tastes like pasta sauce I am guessing they are using stewed tomatoes- I use diced tomatoes or even the whole ones. Just make sure they are not STEWED! Otherwise it will taste like pasta sauce. I even use a can of Rotel sometimes which depending on the type is already spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Your dad's recipe is great! My advice for the "not hot enough for me" people is to write your own or simply add more pepper. Don't say it sucks just because you can't cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Elgin, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Really nice sauce. I swapped in four habeneros for the jalepenos because that is all I had. It turned out great. What a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We enjoyed this. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The hotness of the sauce depends on the peppers. Make sure you go to where you have experienced their peppers so it will be closer to the hotness you desire. I would add more onion and I mean the small white hot kind along with a touch of apple cider vinegar. We should note there is no sugar!!! Thus the 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have been making this salsa for years. The only change I make is to add cilantro and lime juice for an authentic Mexican salsa. I also add more salt. I vary the amount of onion and peppers depending on how hot I want it. One trick is to use canned jalapenos and put in some of the juice from the can. It adds more pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This rates a 5 for ease of prep and a 4 for flavor. Personally, I think that it needs more salt. I used fresh Romas which gave a good thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is a very good and easy recipe. Basically the real deal, but using whole canned tomatoes. If you want all fresh, just substitute the can for real tomatoes. If you want green salsa, substitute canned tomatoes with tomatillos. If you want more heat, leave the seed and veins of both Jalapenos or add your favorite hot pepper. If you want less heat use one seeded and deveined Jalapeno. Do you want a smoky/roasted flavor, coat the tomatoes, onions, garlic cloves, and Jalapeno with oil and roast in the oven or stove top or grill, then peel the charred skins and use as directed in the recipe. Do you feel italian? Substitute the cumin for basil, and substitute the Jalapenos for 1/2 tsp Crushed Red Pepper, process so its very chunky; add olive oil, blk pepper, and balsamic vinegar, and you have a Quick Bruschetta. This is a great base for many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used 2 or 3 Serrano peppers and enjoy their kick more than jalapeños. The key is to add 1/2 tablespoon or so of white sugar. It cuts the acidity of the canned tomatoes perfectly & really improves the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was an easy and tasty recipe. It feels more like a salsa/pico de gallo. It was a bit too watery to use as a taco topping, but is great dip for tortilla chips. Can't be how quickly this comes together either. Will make again. Thanks Cliff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States