Cliff's Hot Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Not spicy or hot as all. Tastes like slightly flavoured tomato sauce. I added a lot more onion and garlic as well as a bit of vinegar and used 6 Jalepeno's and 2 Habanero's to spice it up a bit. In the end I just felt like i was making a pasta sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Made this for the Recipe Swap! Very good sauce. I did double the jalapeno and I ended up needing more salt, so added my favorite seasoning blend(garlic/onion/salt/black pepper), but it sure is easy and great to have for folks to have a place to start. It would also be great with a bit of chipotles added! Thanks Mis7up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keni
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
Really nice sauce. I swapped in four habeneros for the jalepenos because that is all I had. It turned out great. What a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This rates a 5 for ease of prep and a 4 for flavor. Personally, I think that it needs more salt. I used fresh Romas which gave a good thick sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We enjoyed this. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
This is a very good and easy recipe. Basically the real deal, but using whole canned tomatoes. If you want all fresh, just substitute the can for real tomatoes. If you want green salsa, substitute canned tomatoes with tomatillos. If you want more heat, leave the seed and veins of both Jalapenos or add your favorite hot pepper. If you want less heat use one seeded and deveined Jalapeno. Do you want a smoky/roasted flavor, coat the tomatoes, onions, garlic cloves, and Jalapeno with oil and roast in the oven or stove top or grill, then peel the charred skins and use as directed in the recipe. Do you feel italian? Substitute the cumin for basil, and substitute the Jalapenos for 1/2 tsp Crushed Red Pepper, process so its very chunky; add olive oil, blk pepper, and balsamic vinegar, and you have a Quick Bruschetta. This is a great base for many recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used 2 or 3 Serrano peppers and enjoy their kick more than jalapeños. The key is to add 1/2 tablespoon or so of white sugar. It cuts the acidity of the canned tomatoes perfectly & really improves the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
This was an easy and tasty recipe. It feels more like a salsa/pico de gallo. It was a bit too watery to use as a taco topping, but is great dip for tortilla chips. Can't be how quickly this comes together either. Will make again. Thanks Cliff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnasBananas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I have been making this salsa for years. The only change I make is to add cilantro and lime juice for an authentic Mexican salsa. I also add more salt. I vary the amount of onion and peppers depending on how hot I want it. One trick is to use canned jalapenos and put in some of the juice from the can. It adds more pepper flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This is how I make my salsa and I love it. The people who said it tastes like pasta sauce I am guessing they are using stewed tomatoes- I use diced tomatoes or even the whole ones. Just make sure they are not STEWED! Otherwise it will taste like pasta sauce. I even use a can of Rotel sometimes which depending on the type is already spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Sriracha Sauce

See how to make your own sriracha hot sauce.

How to Make Pickled Hot Peppers

See how to turn hot chile peppers into peppy pickles.

Hot Wheels Pasta

A spicy summer tomato sauce with chile peppers and zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States