Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
There's a lot of green bean casserole recipes out there, but this one is head and shoulders above the others. I think it's the addition of sour cream and the buttery cracker crust (not those tired old french fried onions) that give it a little extra zip and personality. I have to admit that I did sprinkle a little shredded cheese on top before adding the cracker crust, and as a cheese addict I think it made this casserole even better. This one's going in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2004
i loved this. very simple, and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by terka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
This is one awesome recipe! I love this. This is definitely not for the folks that like the fried onions on top, this is more refined. I have only made this once and have already been asked for the recipe! This recipe is perfect as written, no modifications needed. This is going to replace our tired, worn out mushroom soup and fried onion recipe. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I would use the dried onions on top instead of the Ritz crackers. I also added an extra can of green beans. The flavors of tis recipe are great though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I signed up just to rate this recipe. We did a test run to check this out before Thanksgiving. We doubled this and put in a pyrex and it was out of this world! We are taking this to a potluck Thanksgiving dinner. We can't wait to share this with others! This is AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This is by far the BEST recipe ever for green bean casserole!!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and hubby and I couldn't get enough! I had another recipe for green bean casserole that I thought was good,but this is THE BEST! You will not be disappointed!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ARCELI6

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
This was so easy and delicious too. I ended up adding half a can of the fried onions to the casserole and topping it with the cracker/butter topping. I also used one extra can of green beans(total of 4) like another person had suggested earlier. Thanks for a yummy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENPENDUBEDEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This is a great recipe. I made this casserole for Thanksgiving and everybody thought it was delicious. Before I added the crushed crackers I sprinkled shredded cheddar cheese over the green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
Took this one to Thanksgiving...and even though many members of my family only eat extremely "healthy", there was not a single morsel of this left! Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
I served this at Thanksgiving and got nothing less than rave reviews. It's a great alternative just a bit more fattening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States