Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I've only made this recipe when I'm cooking for a lot of people. I've found that you can use 5-6 cans of the French cut green beans and keep all of the other ingredients the same; it tastes great and makes it less runny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GINNY671

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
I was really pumped to make this recipe, because it was one of the few recipes that I found that didnt call for milk [I just ran out] and I had lots of sour cream that I wanted to use up. I made this in two smaller dishes, I put the cracker topping on one and cracker & cheese on the other, like another reviewer mentioned. I baked this for 25 minutes and it looked delish when I took it out of the oven. I scooped a bunch in a bowl and started eating it, but after a few bites I got sick of it. Its too sour creamy for my taste[I only used 1/2 cup]. Probably not something I will make again, but thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2008
This was great. Quick and simple. I did make a slight change, though. I used coarsely processed slightly old bread cut with some asiago cheese for the topping and like a previous reviewer suggested I added about a half a can of sweet corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
This is a really good and simple recipe. Great way to get both my kids to eat their green beans. They usually don't like them at all. I love that this doesn't require the french fried onions since I can never remember to buy them! I only used 1 can of green beans and a 1/3 cup of sour cream and a 1/2 can of soup. Fabulous! Definitely a keeper in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
I love the cracker topping, it is so buttery and delicious. Usually when I make this I use fresh green beans, and just cut them to size and boil them for 4-5 minutes before using them in the casserole. Very tasty and enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I thought it was too runny and didn't like the flavor of the French style green beans at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very good. A nice difference from the classic version. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
Thanks for this recipe. I was "volunteered" to make the green bean casserole for Christmas and I absolutely loath the french onion versions. This is bound to be a big hit and it is extremely easy to make, and I might even enjoy it for once. P.s. thanks for the note about the sour cream. I would have gone wrong else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
So good! Followed Breeze/Radiating Mom's advice and it was so good (and easy) that it has made it into my regular rotation, not just for holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I usually make green bean casserole with fried onions, but since you can't buy them here, the crackers were excellent. And I love the name! "You stay classy, green beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusieQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States