Classy Green Bean Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
This was very good. I took the advice of some of the other reviews and added both balsamic and horsradish sauce to give it a little kick and it did! I also doubled the cracker on top, I love the extra crunch. This is a keeper for t-giving menu!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was a hit. A little more creamy than any other breen bean casserole but good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSDEVA
Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This was pretty good...and terribly easy (have another green bean recipe that I use that is awesome but has so many steps I dread preparing!) Used fresh green beans (parboil for about 3 mins, then blanch). Will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I LOVED this! For so long I've wanted to like greenbean casseroles, but I can't get past those onions (what are those things, anyway?) and the taste of canned soup. This recipe is so different from what i had tried to choke down in the past, that it will become a staple on my thanksgiving table. I didn't read the review by the recipe submitter first and added the 1 cup sourcream. I went back and crushed a few of the ritz crackers and stirred in so that it would soak up any 'sogginess' and it was perfect! Not soggy at all. I did add 1/2 packet of lipton's onion soup dry mix to the sourcream/soup mixture, and did shred a little fresh parm to mix with the ritz crumb topping. I loved the flavor that these two ingredients added to this wonderful dish. Subbed reduced fat sourcream and Healthy Request reduced fat/sodium cream soup and it still tasted just as rich and good; no sacrifice of flavor. One might as well double the recipe and use the whole can of soup; this won't last long at your table! Thanks so much Radiating Mom for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I made this with a package of frozen green beans, Healthy Request Soup, and 1/2 cup light sour cream. I added a handful of cheddar cheese right under the cracker topping. It was good, and I enjoyed it much more than the usual green bean casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I used fresh, steamed green beans as I had some that needed to be used. I used healthy choice soup, light sour cream & I am out of Ritz crackers so I used club crackers. I added a bit of onion powder to add flavor, used season-all for the salt & I did catch Breeze/RadiatingMom's review so I cut the sour cream down to half a cup. I served this w/ leftover Molasses Butter Pork Chops (home recipe) & Smushed Apples & Sweet Potatoes (from allrecipes). I liked this better than the traditional green bean casserole & so did hubby...thanks Breeze, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
I have always liked green bean casseroles, but the salt and the fat are overwhelming to me. I used low fat, low salt cream of mushroom soup, 1/2 cup sour cream and frozen french style green beans. I ended up with the freshest tasting casserole ever! This paired well with Apple Stuffed Chicken Breasts and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This was so good that my husband said it was lighter and a very nice change from the classic version. I added a splash of balsamic vinegar to the sour cream/soup mixture and I took previous reviewers advice and used 1/2 cup sour cream. Thanks for a delicious change of pace Radiating Mom/Breeze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
I thought this was great. I did change it up a little though. I used fresh green beans (pre-cooked), less sour cream, added a small clove of garlic and a layer of cheddar cheese. I also used Ritz dinosaur crackers just for fun and extra toddler appeal! It came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dionna
Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
One of my favorite recipes from this site! Always a winner and I make this for Thnksgvng. I do reduce the sour cream a bit & use the whole can of cr. of mushroom. Also add a can of corn to this. I LIKE canned Campbell's soups (they are comfort food to me) so I really, really enjoy this recipe. I can understand, though, if you don't like canned soups/sour cream combinations you probably wouldn't like this recipe. (: All to taste, and here's to comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Green Bean Casserole

See how to make classic French onion and green bean casserole.

Grandma's Green Bean Casserole

See how to make creamy, delicious green bean casserole with a crunchy top.

Campbell's Original Green Bean Casserole

Update the classic holiday dish with bacon, red peppers, or almonds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States