Classy Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Very delicious served over rice! I mostly followed the recipe but made a few modifications. I took the advice of other reviewers and cubed (~1") three medium-large chicken breasts, cooked for about 2-3 minutes after browning (1/2 cup flour is enough) for "springy". We don't like sun dried tomatoes so omitted it and replaced with a can of mushrooms (didn't have fresh on hand), by preference added a little more dill and 1/3 cup of chopped onions, used low fat sour cream, and added 1/2 cup extra chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEEZLYS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This was wonderful!!! I doubled the sauce, added capers, and about 4 cloves of garlic (we love capers and garlic and wanted enough sauce for leftovers). I used broccoli instead of zucchini because it is what I had. Also, I cut up the chicken before I cooked it as one reviewer suggested and tossed it in a bag with King Arthur Gluten Free flour, salt, and pepper. I served it over gluten free pasta. It has been requested again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Very good recipe. Our family is not a fan of zucchini, and I had no sun dried tomatoes, so I went with a mix of cauliflower, broccoli and carrots. I had some cherry tomatoes specifically for this recipe, and forgot to throw them in. Definitely one of the BEST ways to cook a chicken - supper moist and really flavorful. My daughter wasn't too sure of the sauce, my wife thought it tasted too sweet in the vegetables, but I loved it. I made plenty of extra sauce by adding more broth and wine as the level decreased, and I probably used a bit more sour cream than the recipe called for. I would definitely do this one again, but may vary the wine a bit next time, and try some different veggies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
The sauce was so sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Mine needed way more wine to make the sauce, and next time I'd use less dill, if not substitute some other herb altogether - it was really overpowering. Fine dinner, but nothing to rave about.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cowgirll

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
This was absolutely, hands down, fantastic. It wasn't difficult to make and had so much flavor you would have thought I'd spent much more time in the kitchen. I will admit, I did unintentinally screw up one ingredient. My grocery sells jars of sun dried tomatoes along with jar'd bruschetta. I thought I'd grabbed tomatoes, but no. Since I was at the add it to the pan stage, I just went ahead and added what I estimated to be able 5 chopped sun dried tomatoes worth of the bruschetta. Oh my goodness! I cannot imagine doing this dish with anything else now. Please try it, because believe me, you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Dish was fine. Looked good. Dijon and sun dried tomato flavors were most noticeable. Given that it's all active prep time, the meal wasn't tasty enough for me to want to try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
It was ok but I will not be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I've been making this exact recipe for about 5 years now. Don't know that I ever said thank you, but thank you! It is fabulous, was then and is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BevnDave

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
According to my husband, this was "Da' Bomb!". I was intrigued by the unusual combination of ingredients, but it really works! We weren't super impressed the first time around which is why I gave it 4 stars. After these following modifications it turned into a 5 star meal!First, a sauteed my zucchinni with some mushrooms, onions and garlic in olive oil and butter. I deglazed my pan with chicken broth and added in some fire roasted tomoatoes (and added in some of that broth as well). I never understood why a recipe calls for a floured piece of chicken to simmer in a watery sauce...it makes the chicken extremely soggy, and you lose the beautiful crispiness of the coating. I seasoned my flour with salt, pepper and garlic powder. I patted my chicken dry, dipped it in the seasoned flour, then in egg, then in the seasoned flour again to make a thicker coating. I fried my chicken seperate from the sauce in some olive oil while my sauce was simmering. I agree it was a bit bland, so I added tons of extra dill, dijion, garlic, salt and pepper to the sauce mixture. The sauce ended up being a bit thin (since I didn't simmer the floured chicken in it) so I added some cornstarch and it was a perfect, creamy consistency. Thanks so much for the creative, delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 322) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Chicken Curry

What's cooking in Pearland, Texas? A sweet-and-savory fusion dish.

Pan-Seared Chicken Breasts with Shallots

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts with sautéed shallots.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States