Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I wasn't impressed with this recipe. It wasn't bad, but it really wasn't good either. It needs too many modifications for me to reccomend it to anyone else. I added 2 tbs of honey, just as some past reviewers suggested, and that helped the flavor some, but it was bland for the most part. I did decide to make just one loaf, and it rose really well even after I deflated it. But when I baked it at 400 degrees, it nearly burnt the loaf. It was dry inside, and had very little flavor. I'll probably use it for french toast, but I wouldn't try making sandwiches with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
Following various earlier reviews this is what I did : Used 2 cups of whole wheat and 1 cup of all purpose. Made one loaf with the batter instead of two and added an extra 1/4 cup of milk. The extra milk did not seem to be enough, perhaps we need to add 1/3 cup or so. I kept wetting my hands with some milk while kneading coz my dough was far from smooth and elastic. I kept doing this till the dough turned smooth. The dough rose well during the 1st rise but it failed to rise the second time! I wonder why. And although the bread had a good taste it was more cake like. Perhaps I should've also followed another review of just using 2 cups of flour on the whole. I would have then got a light bread. I might do this again with less flour next time. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This recipe is very tasty and I will use it again, but the recipe as it is written only makes 1 loaf of bread and it doesn't raise very high. The next time I make it, I think I'll skip the 2nd rising and just put the dough into the bread pan, let it rise and then bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gwen Swanson

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
This is quite good, although it benefits from toasting and adding jam or something else. It's not the best bread I have baked, but it's good. I think next time I will make this recipe into one big loaf rather than the two smaller ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
by far the best loaf of bread I've made! I accidentaly included the egg in the mix, and not for the brushing. And still is was a great loaf! I followed other's suggestions of NOT doubling it on the first try, AND letting it rise quite a bit longer than required. Thanks for such a GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
This was the first time I have ever made bread! It turned out okay but I did add more milk to the dough because it wasn't pulling together. All in all it turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lisbon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Erie, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
I have been making this bread since i found it about four years ago. We love it. I often replace more of the white flour with whole wheat for a heartier flavor and add ground flax as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Wonderful bread. Only needed 2 3/4 c. flour total and made one larger loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
The bread turned out delicious but i did make some changes to the recipe I added and extra 1/4 cup of milk and a tablespoon of honey. I also used dark brown sugar instead of white and baked in one 9 x 5 in pan. This was my first time making bread with yeast. Very easy and turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neal893

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Englewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2006
i also had the problem of dough being too dry, so i increased the liquid, and also the top browned very quickly, so i had to decrease the temperature. all in all, the bread was tasty, but the loaf was on the smaller side. thx for the recipe though =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jinan, Shandong Province, China
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States