Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I tried baking a fresh loaf of bread for the 1st time in life and I am glad I chanced upon this recipe. The list of ingredients didn't seem daunting. I exchanged the ratios of whole wheat & all-purpose as I wanted it to as 100% whole wheat as possible, but followed the rest as given. Though, let it rise for extra time than suggested. Topped it with oats for style, scored the loaf in the center and the result was a great loaf that looked straight out of a bakery! I shared some pics with friends, and they called me a 'pro'. Tasted good. Turned soft on inside with a great looking fine crust on the outside. The touch of egg gave the loaf a nice brown glaze. As I was experimenting, I used portion of the dough to make dinner rolls that I topped with cumin seeds and green herbs. Those turned out great too. Thanks for sharing. I will be using this recipe again with variations (honey,brown sugar,etc) that others suggested! The ease and simplicity of the recipe surely made me a confident 1st time bread baker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
this recipe turned out perfect, I doubled the recipe because in total 3 cups of flour didn't sound like it would fill 2 loaf pans, so as I was saying I doubled the recipe and used 2 - 9x5 loaf pans and they rose wonderfully to huge loaves...after I did an egg wash to them I also added sesame seeds to the tops before I baked them... my husband loves ww bread and he just loved this recipe. This one is definitely going to be used again and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I've made this recipe twice and love it. The second time, I varied the portions of wheat to white flour and it still turned out successful. Nice texture. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I only let this rise once then baked it off. It wasn't the fluffiest bread I've ever tasted but the flavor is wonderful. We've had it for toast and sandwiches, sweet or savory it's a wonderful day to day bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
really simple and tastes great. I managed to get both rises just fine, and I baked it in one loaf pan and got a good sized loaf. I set a timer for ten minutes and made sure I kneaded the whole time, I never give it enough time if I don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
This was my first time making bread. Ever. This recipe is simple and calls for only a few common ingredients. I hunted for a recipe that included whole wheat flour but not bread flour, or wheat germ, etc. I did use less flour than recommended, and my bread did not rise very high after the second time. I did add a little honey and didn't cook it for a full 30 mins. Tasted amazing though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mara Z

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
I made few changes, I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup white flour, used olive oil instead of veg oil, honey instead of sugar, added flax seeds, cumin seeds, white sesame seeds, black sesame seeds. I divided the dough into half and each half into halves until I got about 10 equal pieces and rolled each into a roll then I let it sit for about half a n hour and put it in the oven 350 for about 15 mins. The result was Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
quick easy recipe. I followed it except I used honey instead of white sugar. I also used bread flour in place of the AP, It makes one nice sized loaf of bread. I had no trouble with the second rise, it rose beautifully both times. good basic daily bread. I am going to double it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I just finished making this bread and tried a piece... I don't know that there will be any left for my husband when he gets home! The only thing I might change is going to be making one loaf instead of two, the loaves are a little smaller than what I like. With that I'll have to adjust the baking time and temp a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe, doubled, makes two good-sized loaves of bread. I've made some changes to it - the original combination of wheat and regular flour didn't get as wheaty as I wanted it to be, so I now do a combo of 3 cups WW flour and 3 cups bread flour. I also add a bit of millet and flax seed for a multi-grain feel. The recipe proved an excellent place to work from for me. My only real issue is the baking time and temperature. So far, between a gas and an electric oven, I've had to adjust to something like 375 for 40 minutes. If I do the 400 for 30 minutes, the outside gets too hard, and the inside ends up not baking through. I'm still looking for my perfect temp + time combination (still comes out a little too brown on top), but at least it's baking through all the way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States