Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
It didn't raise, so I will not be baking this every again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I haven't baked any bread all winter and this is only the second loaf of bread I've made using whole wheat flour. It came out really well! Found that I only needed 1 and 1/2 cups of the all purpose flour. Oops. Almost forgot I did use bread flour NOT all purpose. The rising time was pretty right on for me. The bake time was different, though. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 30 minutes. This only made one loaf. Next time I won't do the egg wash, as I wanted a softer crust on my wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Very good recipe...I add oats and flex seeds and less white flour. It came's out so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I liked it very much! It was good to read the reviews so I changed the sugar to 2 tablespoons of brown sugar and only made as one loaf. I didn't need to use all the white flour, just as needed. Also, I brushed with the eggwash and sprinkled sesame seads on the top, just before baking. I only sliced one hour after it was baked, so the bread held up well for a sandwich. I made it twice already and each time my husband made me promisse that I would make it again. Gave 5 stars for the bread made with modification from reviewers. Thank you everybody for suggestions and thank you Chewly for a great recipe. I'll make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchenfairy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Good basic Whole Wheat recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefMonty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is my first bread making experience and it has taught me PATIENCE! I didn't quite use all the flour it said to use - I used a cup less because it seemed just fine without it. And I thought it tasted just fine, not to mention the smell of baking bread was amazing. Remember - Just let it rise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This was a very nice recipe - it was absolutely delicious right out of the oven with butter. However, I found that it didn't taste as good the next day. Just a little too bland for my taste. It was also too crumbly but this was my first time making bread so I might have went wrong somewhere. I'll try it again as it's a super easy recipe and has great potential. I think I'll add honey next time! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
Perfect simple recipe for whole wheat bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
This was the 2nd loaf bread recipe that I've tried and it is a keeper. It's similar to most store bought sliced bread. My family likes it and so do I. However, we prefer the honey flavored recipe I found on this website. For those who don't care for honey though, this recipe is easy and fun to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
the only problem I have is that this is not a whole wheat recipe. Whole wheat= all whole wheat flour, thus whole. So besides not being what it says, it's a good "Wheat bread" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States