Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yep, this is pretty simple, though I dislike the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Bc of the comments that this makes very small loaves, I doubled it. After glancing at the ingredients I realized why it makes small loaves. Most bread recipes call for approximately 3 to 3 1/2 cups of flour for one loaf of bread, so definitely double this recipe if you're looking for more than one loaf of bread. Other than that issue, this is a nice, light, chewy, whole wheat loaf. I like it--great for sandwiches! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Really good! Fantastic when toasted or grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Love this recipe! The loaf/loaves come out so soft and delicious, and it has become my guy's favorite for his lunch sandwiches! Thank you so much for this wonderfully delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GretchenB1369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this bread yesterday, and it was fantastic. For me, it raised again, but I used fresh yeast. I also used 2 c of whole wheat instead of 2 c of all-purpose. Im going to make some more today, except Im going to use brown sugar instead to see the difference! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Amazing bread. This was my first time making bread and although it didn't come out looking beautiful, it tastes amazing. I made the recipe as written, but one loaf and no egg glaze. I may have had to add a little extra water too to get the dough to hold together. I thought that may have been a rookie mistake but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow, how great is this bread? I have never been brave enough to attempt homemade bread before this recipe. Even though I did a couple of things differently, I am rating this recipe 5 stars for clarity of directions and overall ease. Who knew making bread was so easy? I followed the recipe instructions exactly, but as far as ingredients, I took a couple of reviewer's suggestions and subbed brown sugar instead of the white and also added 2 T. of honey. I used plain Almond milk instead of regular, and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and about 1/2 a cup of A/P flour and more for dusting on the countertop and for kneading. I brushed the top with butter instead of egg and sprinkled on some toasted sesame seeds before baking. The bread dough rose beautifully both times, although I do agree with other reviewers that this recipe 'as is' would not make 2 acceptably sized loaves of bread. Double the recipe, because you are going to want a LOT of this bread in your house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I found this recipe to be just what I was looking for to make whole wheat rolls for my neice who is watching her calorie/fat/chol intake. Unlike previous attempts, this made light whole wheat rolls that were a big hit with Rachel and everyone else at Easter dinner. I used my bread machine for mixing and kneading and ran on one extra knead cycle to ensure lightness. Try this and enjoy. Thank CHEWY for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
If I could give this recipe 4.5 stars, or even 4.75, I would. It's a delicious, soft but substantial loaf of wheat bread and I will make it again. My one complaint is that it by no means makes two loaves of bread. I got one smallish loaf that didn't quite fill my loaf pan. But it was really delicious and worth making in bulk for all-purpose bread around the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
I read all the reviews on this recipe before trying it and thought it would be a fool proof recipe. I bake bread every week and this recipe was not up to par. It did not rise well after putting into pans. I use even used bread flour. The bread was not that flavorful either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefdarci

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States