Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I have never had much success baking bread before even with a bread machine but this recipe turned out perfect! It rose and tasted great. It was light textured, not dense like some bread can be and even days later it still tasted fresh and didn't crumble. I found out half way through mixing I was out of white sugar so I substituted brown sugar and it worked fine. This is my new one and only bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This was my first time baking bread and it was a great success with my family! I was looking for a simple whole wheat recipe since I had a big can of wheat berries in my food storage. I didn't have a wheat grinder, so I just ground them up in my osterizer/blender to make the wheat flour and it was great! I also heeded the advice of the earlier reviews and added a tablespoon of honey (could have added more) and kept the recipe to one loaf pan. I added about 10 minutes to each of the rise times, as well. I am eating it 3 days later and it's still moist! I will definately make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This bread is great!! It taste good and is very easy to make. I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This bread did not rise at all, even after I doubled the yeast the second time I tried to make it. It had a great flavor but unfortunately couldn't be used for much of anything since it was so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This bread was FANTASTIC. I'm glad I read the reviews first b/c it definitely only makes ONE loaf. I'm making two today. The texture is wonderful. Watch the baking time-mine was done 12 minutes or so sooner than suggested. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
delicious, cheap and easy (so far as bread goes). I used soy milk and olive oil, and it still turned out great. (and I listened to the advice that this recipe only makes one loaf)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This recepie was pretty good. I made an additon to the recipe. I added 2 tablespoons of honey. It was not too sweet. It just added a little more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
this is a no mistake & wonderful bread Thank You , Marcella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I took the warning and made this as one loaf originally, but we're going through it so quickly I'm now doubling the recipe to have two loaves. I also give it extra time to really rise well. (Ideally, I mix it up well in advance and then leave it for a few hours before baking.) As a result, its become the staple bread in our house and our dinner guests have been duly impressed by such great homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This was a very good tasting bread but I wish I had read the reviews first. Also I wonder if any one else had a problem with getting it to use 2 cups of white flour? I have made it 2 times and both times could only 1 cup of white flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newton, Iowa, USA
Living In: Spanaway, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States