Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2002
I've followed this recipe twice now, and I am quite pleasntly pleased with the results! The first time through was my first experience making bread and was fotunate enough to read the comments suggesting to make only one loaf. It turned out rather small but the taste was exceptional! The second time though, i made a few modifications (doubling the recipe, adding a little more yeast, giving it more rising time, topping it with sesame seeds and butter, and adding a little molasses) and the results were beyond exceptional! I strongly urge anyone who trys this recipe to first double it, and second to give it a little more rising time. You won't be dissapointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I've worked as a the bread maker for an Italian Restaurant and as Pastry Chef for another popular bakery in my area. I was looking for a simple, no frills, use-everyday recipe and this is it. You can get recipes like this in baking text books, but who wants to buy the whole book. Next time I will go ahead and add the touch of extra honey. My kids are going to love me in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2002
I took the warning and made this as one loaf originally, but we're going through it so quickly I'm now doubling the recipe to have two loaves. I also give it extra time to really rise well. (Ideally, I mix it up well in advance and then leave it for a few hours before baking.) As a result, its become the staple bread in our house and our dinner guests have been duly impressed by such great homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
This bread is not a two loaf receipe, unless you have really tiny pans. The secret to rising and getting nice fluffy bread is to wait until it doubles. Putting it in a warm (not hot) and moist environ is a big help in getting it to rise better. Course using good (new) yeast also helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Used whole wheat and white bread flour. Had great loft and texture. Not too dense. Ppl really need to be careful with the amount of flour they put in the mix when they make it. Just because a recipe calls for three cups, doesn't mean you will need to put all three in.... A lot depends on the quality/type of ingredients you are using and how dense you like your bread... Often times, a dense bread is simply a product of adding too much flour. Anyway, took me a while to figure that out so thought I'd pass that nugget of info on to others who may not know.... take it or leave it. As for this recipe.... the taste was BLAND! I followed the ingredient list and did not add/substitute anything - even though I had read the reviews. So piece of advice, unless you like really bland bread you might want to add the recommended couple tablespoons of honey or subbing the white sugar for brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chennette
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good recipe. I used brown sugar instead (can't imagine whole wheat bread without it) and didn't bother with the egg wash. It came out nice and soft inside, brown crust and held up well for sandwiches. Only made 1 loaf though. But I will save this recipe and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: California, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was my first attempt at baking bread, and I thought it was wonderful. I followed the advice of previous reviewers: I extended rising times by about 10 minutes, I used 2 c of whole wheat and only 1 c of white, I used soy milk instead of regular, and I only made one loaf. Oh - I also used brown sugar instead of white, and it worked just fine. The extra molasses probably added some extra flavor. I baked it for the recommended 30 minutes, but I found the top was nearly burnt in some spots - so next time I'll reduce baking time by 5 minutes or so. Overall, this bread is GREAT!! I'm just too proud of myself that I now know how to make bread by hand!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This recepie was pretty good. I made an additon to the recipe. I added 2 tablespoons of honey. It was not too sweet. It just added a little more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This bread was very good. I made 16 rolls instead of a loaf and it was great. My only complaint was that it was a little bland. I'm going to add some honey next time, and maybe top with some seeds. The texture was wonderful - light and fluffy. Bake for only about 10 minutes for rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
its funny that i didnt look at the reviews for this recipe before i went ahead and made it.. and now after i see this, its no surprise to me now that after the punch down, it didnt rise all that much the second time.. boy.. i was upset that it didnt rise, thinking that i might have done something wrong, but now i see that others had the same "non-rising experence".. but as the others say.. the flavour was great, and it was quite easy to make. but i am still baffled as to why it rose so nicely the first time, and didnt the second after the punch down.. who knows.. but was still good in the end!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States