Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was an O.K. bread. it was a little plain! The recipe was pretty easy to follow, but I thought that in the directions there was to much information in one step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Took a chance and did this recipe in the bread machine. It turned out one excellent loaf. It is a lighter bread, but still cuts great for sandwiches. Love that it didn't have honey. I might try increasing the proportion of wheat to white next time. I'll let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2005
I've worked as a the bread maker for an Italian Restaurant and as Pastry Chef for another popular bakery in my area. I was looking for a simple, no frills, use-everyday recipe and this is it. You can get recipes like this in baking text books, but who wants to buy the whole book. Next time I will go ahead and add the touch of extra honey. My kids are going to love me in the morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gresham, Oregon, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
Very easy recipe for a nice loaf of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I started using this recipe about a month ago looking for an easy whole wheat bread recipe. It bakes up very nicely and my husband cannot get enough of it. I double the recipe and add 1/4 honey to give it a sweeter taste. I also tried using oat flour and substituted one cup of flour and it was very nice and chewy but did not raise as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2005
I must compliment Chewly for this recipe. It works. It is easy to make and the end result perfect. I have been making bread by hand for a long time, but only now with this recipe started making whole wheat bread. Anyone who said that the bread was hard etc, must have failed to allow the dough to prove sufficiently or must have used expired yeast. This is good bread in fact even better than the store bought one. Once again my compliments to Chewly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2005
This was my first attempt at baking bread, and I thought it was wonderful. I followed the advice of previous reviewers: I extended rising times by about 10 minutes, I used 2 c of whole wheat and only 1 c of white, I used soy milk instead of regular, and I only made one loaf. Oh - I also used brown sugar instead of white, and it worked just fine. The extra molasses probably added some extra flavor. I baked it for the recommended 30 minutes, but I found the top was nearly burnt in some spots - so next time I'll reduce baking time by 5 minutes or so. Overall, this bread is GREAT!! I'm just too proud of myself that I now know how to make bread by hand!! Thanks for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
The first time I made this bread, I tried to use all three cups of flour and it turned out way too dense. But every other time I've made it, I've used only two cups of flour and it's been delicious, light, and moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
It turned out really good! However, i had to remove the sugar because my husband cannot have any, and then put 2 cups wheat flour and one cup all purpose flour! it was very crunchy in the outside and then soft and moist in the inside. my husband just loved it! He said God made me to be his wife so i could bake him this kind of bread! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2004
This came out delicious. I used more whole wheat and decreased the am't of white flour and it still tasted great. I wet my hands when the dough got too tough while kneading, and this helped it along. Tasted great dipped in olive oil, bit of salt, and fresh sauteed garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States