Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 8, 2006
turned out good,but i had to make a few changes.i used 2 1\2 cups of white and only a 1\2 cup of wheat.that made it a less dry with still that good earthy wheat taste to it.i also had to add about an additional 1\4 cup and then another 1\8 cup of milk because the dough was very dry and wasn't taking in all the flour. i didn't separate the dough into two loaves ,but that is because i prefer the larger hunks of bread :-)it would be pretty small at two loaves.turned out great and i would definately recomend this recipe!just needed some easy fixes :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2006
I used brown sugar instead of white, I used 2 cups of organic whole wheat flour and only 1 cup of white flour. I used garlic herbal oil instead of vegetable oil. I made one 5 1/2 x 9 1/2 loaf rather than the 2 5x8 that it states. I cooked it for as long as it says and it turned out alright. Also I brushed butter on the top instead of egg. It turned out pretty good considering this is only my 2nd time ever making bread. I would recommend it with the modifications I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chennette
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
Very good recipe. I used brown sugar instead (can't imagine whole wheat bread without it) and didn't bother with the egg wash. It came out nice and soft inside, brown crust and held up well for sandwiches. Only made 1 loaf though. But I will save this recipe and use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: California, Couva-Tabaquite-Talparo, Trinidad And Tobago
Living In: Georgetown, Demerara-Mahaica, Guyana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Makes great bread and using minimal ingreients. A classic indeed. I make one loaf with this recipe because I love those huge sandwiches.mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I followed the recipe as written, and I was not terribly pleased with the results. Too dense, kind of blah. It may be an elevation issue--I just moved to a place with quite a difference in elevation from my old home, and all my recipes have to be adjusted. Anyway, I may try again with some of the suggested modifications, but then again, I may just keep looking for another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALISAE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
A very satisfying bread (though it won't be ready in 1 hour and 20 min.) I read the reviews and made some modifications: I did not use all the white flour (maybe about 1/4 cup or so less because the dough was getting much too dry) and added 1/4 cup honey which gave a nice flavor. This recipe only yielded one 5x8 loaf and the cooking time was less than the recipe states. I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2005
This bread was very good. I made 16 rolls instead of a loaf and it was great. My only complaint was that it was a little bland. I'm going to add some honey next time, and maybe top with some seeds. The texture was wonderful - light and fluffy. Bake for only about 10 minutes for rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
i really liked this bread a lot. I thought it was easy to mack. Its a good recipe to start on.The tast of it was great iI dont know what you could do to it to change it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
This was an O.K. bread. it was a little plain! The recipe was pretty easy to follow, but I thought that in the directions there was to much information in one step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Took a chance and did this recipe in the bread machine. It turned out one excellent loaf. It is a lighter bread, but still cuts great for sandwiches. Love that it didn't have honey. I might try increasing the proportion of wheat to white next time. I'll let you know how it turns out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States