Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I just finished making this bread and tried a piece... I don't know that there will be any left for my husband when he gets home! The only thing I might change is going to be making one loaf instead of two, the loaves are a little smaller than what I like. With that I'll have to adjust the baking time and temp a little bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This recipe, doubled, makes two good-sized loaves of bread. I've made some changes to it - the original combination of wheat and regular flour didn't get as wheaty as I wanted it to be, so I now do a combo of 3 cups WW flour and 3 cups bread flour. I also add a bit of millet and flax seed for a multi-grain feel. The recipe proved an excellent place to work from for me. My only real issue is the baking time and temperature. So far, between a gas and an electric oven, I've had to adjust to something like 375 for 40 minutes. If I do the 400 for 30 minutes, the outside gets too hard, and the inside ends up not baking through. I'm still looking for my perfect temp + time combination (still comes out a little too brown on top), but at least it's baking through all the way now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I am sure my dislike is mostly my fault. I used more whole wheat flour than white. I made the mistake by following others advice on some issues, so my bread ended up being broken up for the birds! My husband is a "must have bread at every meal" man, and he didn't eat 1 slice. Also found with such high heat, the bread was a little to dark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nosygirl
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I used a 9x5 loaf pan and only made one loaf. It was great! I'm going to start doubling it and making it our staple bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nosygirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cameron Park, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. Fabalous taste. Is a one loaf recipe tho. But for me that is perfect. As we are a family of 2. Thanks so much. Will use this one often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Great! Add strawberries (about 5 fresh diced)into the batter with the flower and a little bit of brown sugar oat flakes and chocolate powder on top and it is even better! This was a light great texture bread. (I sifted the flower though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I too did not read the reviews and made 2 loaves that were very thin. The taste was still great and I will continue to make this bread but I will either make 1 loaf or double the recipe and make 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Downes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
This is a delicious bread, so much better than industrial breads from the supermarket. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Used whole wheat and white bread flour. Had great loft and texture. Not too dense. Ppl really need to be careful with the amount of flour they put in the mix when they make it. Just because a recipe calls for three cups, doesn't mean you will need to put all three in.... A lot depends on the quality/type of ingredients you are using and how dense you like your bread... Often times, a dense bread is simply a product of adding too much flour. Anyway, took me a while to figure that out so thought I'd pass that nugget of info on to others who may not know.... take it or leave it. As for this recipe.... the taste was BLAND! I followed the ingredient list and did not add/substitute anything - even though I had read the reviews. So piece of advice, unless you like really bland bread you might want to add the recommended couple tablespoons of honey or subbing the white sugar for brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
Very tasty, easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly. This was the first loaf of bread I've ever made. I think the yeast I used was a little stale so the bread did not rise as I thought it would. In the future, I will use newer yeast and let it rise longer before baking. While the final product was flatter and more dense than I would've liked, the taste of the bread was great! I'm a very picky wheat bread eater. This was very mellow, smooth in taste. Even my picky toddler gobbled up the piece I gave to her. Thanks for this easy-to-make recipe that does not require a breadmaker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States