Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
A great bread! Threw everything into a bread machine and now have a new favorite recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Very fluffy, light tasting wheat bread. Agree with other reviewers that this really only makes one loaf. I also had to have a longer second rising. I gave it an hour and probably could have done an hour-thirty. On the whole though, very easy recipe with a good result!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
Yep, this is pretty simple, though I dislike the dryness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
Bc of the comments that this makes very small loaves, I doubled it. After glancing at the ingredients I realized why it makes small loaves. Most bread recipes call for approximately 3 to 3 1/2 cups of flour for one loaf of bread, so definitely double this recipe if you're looking for more than one loaf of bread. Other than that issue, this is a nice, light, chewy, whole wheat loaf. I like it--great for sandwiches! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Really good! Fantastic when toasted or grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Love this recipe! The loaf/loaves come out so soft and delicious, and it has become my guy's favorite for his lunch sandwiches! Thank you so much for this wonderfully delicious recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GretchenB1369

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I made this bread yesterday, and it was fantastic. For me, it raised again, but I used fresh yeast. I also used 2 c of whole wheat instead of 2 c of all-purpose. Im going to make some more today, except Im going to use brown sugar instead to see the difference! Thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Amazing bread. This was my first time making bread and although it didn't come out looking beautiful, it tastes amazing. I made the recipe as written, but one loaf and no egg glaze. I may have had to add a little extra water too to get the dough to hold together. I thought that may have been a rookie mistake but it turned out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Parent

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Wow, how great is this bread? I have never been brave enough to attempt homemade bread before this recipe. Even though I did a couple of things differently, I am rating this recipe 5 stars for clarity of directions and overall ease. Who knew making bread was so easy? I followed the recipe instructions exactly, but as far as ingredients, I took a couple of reviewer's suggestions and subbed brown sugar instead of the white and also added 2 T. of honey. I used plain Almond milk instead of regular, and used 2 cups of whole wheat flour, and about 1/2 a cup of A/P flour and more for dusting on the countertop and for kneading. I brushed the top with butter instead of egg and sprinkled on some toasted sesame seeds before baking. The bread dough rose beautifully both times, although I do agree with other reviewers that this recipe 'as is' would not make 2 acceptably sized loaves of bread. Double the recipe, because you are going to want a LOT of this bread in your house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Rott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I found this recipe to be just what I was looking for to make whole wheat rolls for my neice who is watching her calorie/fat/chol intake. Unlike previous attempts, this made light whole wheat rolls that were a big hit with Rachel and everyone else at Easter dinner. I used my bread machine for mixing and kneading and ran on one extra knead cycle to ensure lightness. Try this and enjoy. Thank CHEWY for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States