Classic Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
The bread turned out hard and heavy, with a bland taste. It was lacking "something." I had to throw almost the whole loaf out because no one would eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I made this recipe for the first time today and it is delicious. I used 1/4 cup of honey in addition to the sugar. I also made only one loaf but it could be made in two small loaves. I sprinkled sesame seeds on top of the loaf after I painted it with the egg. A big hit with my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carolyn Koval

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cohoes, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2004
I have never had much success baking bread before even with a bread machine but this recipe turned out perfect! It rose and tasted great. It was light textured, not dense like some bread can be and even days later it still tasted fresh and didn't crumble. I found out half way through mixing I was out of white sugar so I substituted brown sugar and it worked fine. This is my new one and only bread recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2003
This was my first time baking bread and it was a great success with my family! I was looking for a simple whole wheat recipe since I had a big can of wheat berries in my food storage. I didn't have a wheat grinder, so I just ground them up in my osterizer/blender to make the wheat flour and it was great! I also heeded the advice of the earlier reviews and added a tablespoon of honey (could have added more) and kept the recipe to one loaf pan. I added about 10 minutes to each of the rise times, as well. I am eating it 3 days later and it's still moist! I will definately make this bread again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2003
This bread is great!! It taste good and is very easy to make. I couldn't ask for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
This bread did not rise at all, even after I doubled the yeast the second time I tried to make it. It had a great flavor but unfortunately couldn't be used for much of anything since it was so dense.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
This bread was FANTASTIC. I'm glad I read the reviews first b/c it definitely only makes ONE loaf. I'm making two today. The texture is wonderful. Watch the baking time-mine was done 12 minutes or so sooner than suggested. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EatsBooks

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2003
delicious, cheap and easy (so far as bread goes). I used soy milk and olive oil, and it still turned out great. (and I listened to the advice that this recipe only makes one loaf)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2002
This recepie was pretty good. I made an additon to the recipe. I added 2 tablespoons of honey. It was not too sweet. It just added a little more flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
this is a no mistake & wonderful bread Thank You , Marcella
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States