Classic Whiskey Sour Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Loved it! Made one minor change, added another half ounce of simple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
Go big or go home! Great recipe; not a bourbon drinker, so I make these with Canadian Club. Perfect. Too strong and/or too sour? Add 1/2 to 1 ounce of orange juice. And you don't get all the chemicals in those sour mixes. My favorite winter drink.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Whiskey Sours are one of my favorite drinks. (Of course, I've met few drinks that aren't my favorites.) Finding myself with only a bottle of Seagrams 7 and no palatable mixers and too lazy to go to the liquor store for the vodka and/or wine I really wanted, I tried this recipe. I found it way too sour and added A LOT more simple syrup, some cherry juice along with the cherries and a little splash of orange juice since I didn't have any fresh oranges. I like a slice of orange in my whiskey sours. Then it tasted real gooooooood. Poured it in a big ol' wine goblet along with the ice and drank it all myself. Lucky me! hiccup. . . Granted it would probably be better (or stronger) with a real whiskey, but I thought the whiskey amount was just about right for my three-drink maximum goblet. Next time, less lemon juice, more sugar syrup, orange and lots of cherries. Drink up and go home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
This is a perfect recipe for whiskey sours. It matches the recipe given to me by the ONLY bartender in my city I allow to make them for me (this was after having very terrible versions of what people called whiskey sours). The bartender uses W.L. Weller as the choice of whiskey. A very delicious drink... when made right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Note, this recipe is for THREE drinks. For one use 3 oz whiskey, 1 oz lemon juice, .5 oz syrup (or more to taste. I usually put a little of the cherry juice in as well. A true classic cocktail and easy to make. I prefer the Manhattan to the sour, but to each his or her own. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Hadn't had a Whiskey Sour in YEARS! But found this recipe and really liked it. No mixes, just straight sweet/sour and whiskey! It's the real deal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
OK, ya'll..........this recipe will kick your booty! My changes were as follows: substituted the simple syrup for Rose's Sweetented Lime Juice and had to add 3 pkgs. of Splenda to make it palatable. Otherwise I used the recipe as written. Woohoo, good stuff Mainard!!! Will definitely do this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Sprite? Makers? Bushmills? Get real! A PROPER whiskey sour should be made real American bourbon. Maker's Mark is not a real bourbon because it is made with corn/wheat instead of the corn/barley/rye of a proper bourbon mash bill. Thus it lacks the rye "bite" that makes bourbon worth drinking. I call it whiskey with training wheels for those who have not learned to drink real whiskey. Bushmills and Gentleman Jack are not bourbons at all. Yes a whiskey sour is a strong drink, and those who are not up to it should drink something else rather than dilute it with (yech!) Sprite. I use Wild Turkey 101 or Wild Turkey Rye, and find this recipe perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I've been using a similar recipe for years - but I do equal parts syrup and I add the cherries and a slice of orange to the mix while blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
I modified it 1:2:4 and it was PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Kahlúa Pumpkin Whiskey Cocktail

See how to make the perfect cold-weather cocktail.

Whiskey Slush

Cool off a hot summer evening with a refreshing, icy whiskey cocktail.

Amaretto Sour Cocktail

A little sweet, a little tart, this refreshing cocktail is simply delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States