Classic Waffles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
We all enjoyed these for breakfast with sliced strawberries and whipped cream. The only thing I do differently is make waffles in the blender. First I whip up the egg in the blender then add the rest of the wet ingredients and blend quickly. Then add the mixed dry ingredients to the blender and use the stir cycle until well mixed. Then I pour it directly onto the waffle iron. I add extra milk to thin out the batter if it needs it. Easy! and a nice treat. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1365 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
My family liked this recipes I did make some alterations to the mix, I add 5 Tbls of sugar and 1 1/4 stick of real butter (melted) and about 3 Tbls of vanilla I know from past mistakes when cooking other recipes the bread didn't come out to sweet. This is a nice sweet I know it sounds like alot of sugar but it all balances out. I will definately use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1016 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
The only thing I did different than the directions stated to do was I sifted the flour, baking power & sugar before I added the liquid ingredients. If we could my husband and I would give this a 10 star rating. Also remember to put the hot waffle on paper towels because otherwise they do get steamy/soggy without. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.. no more mixes for us!! YUMMO (just like Rachel Ray says) ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
769 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2002
Glad to find this recipe as it is close to my mother's recipe that I lost. I separated the eggs and folded in the whites last. This is the way my mom's recipe was and it makes the waffles lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
1st time cooking waffles and it came out great. I agree that separating the yolks and whites makes it better. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
213 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Having never made a waffle until now, and having never even eaten one other than an Eggo, I have no basis to compare this recipe with any other. Having said that, all I know is hubby and I enjoyed our breakfast this morning! In comparing this recipe with other similar recipes, including the one included in the manual, this one called for twice the amount of salt, so I reduced it by half keeping all other ingredients and measurements the same, and beat the eggs well to lighten them up. The waffle was crispy on the outside, but tender on the inside, with good flavor. My only criticism, and certainly no fault of the recipe, is that my waffle maker anyway, cooks unevenly, with some parts of the waffle browning more than others. Maybe it just takes practice spreading the batter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Wow! Perfect recipe for "Classic Waffles"! I got a waffle maker and couldn't wait to try it out. They were crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. This recipe is perfect as-is, but if you want a sweeter waffle you can up the sugar to as much as you like. I upped it to about 4-6 Tbsp and was liberal with the vanilla. These are delicious topped with real maple syrup or fresh fruit and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Angie Seaman
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2001
The first time I made these, they were a little bland. I added 1t of cinnamon and used real butter this time, and they were outstanding. Crispy, light, and full of flavor. The best waffles I've made :) They stay crispier if you pull them to one plate to cool slightly, then move them to another. The steam condenses on the first plate. I made them with home fries...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Seaman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
What went wrong?!? I made these waffles exactly as the recipe said and they were limp and soggy, even after laying them out on a paper towel, and they tasted heavily of salt and baking soda. I was very disappointed because all the reviews made them sound wonderful. Conspiracy Theory: I've gone through the reviews for this recipe and the "too much baking soda" complaint is restricted to the last three reviews. I wonder if someone hacked into the recipe database and changed the amount of baking soda in the recipe so that poor, unsuspecting cooks would have their waffles ruined. Breakfast-related mayhem ensues and the evil hacker goes on to mess up other recipes. Think about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2004
These are so good!!! Way better than the ones you buy at the store. I made 32 of them and have them in the freezer. We had them with stewed blueberries and whip cream but they are good with just a bit of margarine and some syrup. Thanks for the recipe. I am from Nova Scotia, Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Cinnamon Roll Waffles

A cinnamon-flavored breakfast treat.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States