Classic Tuna Noodle Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This recipe was extremely bland and with the amount of noodles given, would not have fed a family of four without being mostly soup/sauce. I doubled the noodles, which created enough servings for my husband, me, and our three young children, with enough leftovers for one serving. It did also make it so that it wasn't very saucy, which both the hubby and I liked, but I would still use slightly more liquid. I also used cream of mushroom soup because it was what we had in the house, but would like to try it with celery. If I were to make this recipe again, I would add 1/2 small onion, garlic powder, black pepper, and a pinch of salt to start, along with double the noodles and either another 1/2 cup of milk or 1/2 cup of sour cream, as some other reviews have mentioned, and see how it tastes with some seasoning in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
This is my husband's favorite casserole. I didn't grow up eating casseroles so I had to learn how to make this from his mom. So we use cream of mushroom soup, and add chunks of Velvetta cheese, and onion flakes instead of pimentos, I stir it halfway through to get the cheese melted throughout and then crushed potato chips on top (lays original no ruffles) the last 10 minute of cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
As is, this recipe is just ok. I had cut it out of the paper a couple of weeks ago because I thought it looked and sounded great. It turned out very bland as far as I was concerned, and I actually threw out the recipe because I'm sure I could find one with much more flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
My Mom used to make this ALOT when I was a kid(without pimentos)and it still is my favorite dinner...I add shredded cheese to it and use one can mushroom soup and one can cream of chicken soup...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Gandee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2010
I have loved this recipe since I was a teenager first learning to cook. I like it better with Cream of Mushroom soup, and it's good with a cup of shredded cheddar cheese mixed into it as well. If you think it needs more flavor in it, try topping it with french fried onions instead of bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I like it creamy so I used a can of cream of mushroom, a can of the celery and splashed in more milk. Thew in some seasonings along with half cheddar and half pepper jack cheeses. Buttered Panko breadcrumbs made the topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This is an excellent tuna casserole. I too, like Chachapa, used the tuna casserole recipe that called for the potato chips and thyme. Chachapa I would love to have that recipe again. I made it in my sophmore year home ec class and got an A+. Thanks for bringing back that wonderful memory in high school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glendalee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I grew up eating tuna & noodle casserole and my children have grown up eating it also. It's still a family favorite. I've always used 1 can Cream of Mushroom soup and 1/2 can milk and 3-4 slices of cheese (I use Kraft singles). It's never turned out dry. Always creamy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Try a can of cream of mushroom soup instead of celery soup, add one half to 3/4 c. cup cubed velveeta cheese. The cheese makes a difference! I don't measure my noodles, but I usually end up with close to four cups of noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Great base recipe from the past! Just swap out ingredients to your hearts desire. Chicken or ham for the tuna, the cream of whatever soup to change your flavor, 1 tomato & 1 cream of, gives a nice sauce if you use ground beef or turkey. This is the original 'Helper" before you could buy it in a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cabin cat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Turkey

See how to make juicy roasted turkey with a savory gravy.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken and Broccoli Alfredo

This dish is delicious, and so easy with Campbell's® Cream of Mushroom Soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States