Classic Tiramisu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I made this for a dinner party my in-laws were invited to and i got rave reviews back on it. i personally don't think I will be doing the step with egg yolk. I will just mix the mascarpone cheese with the cream. I used coffee flavored mascarpone cheese and used starbucks italian roast instant coffee and it came out great. The egg gave it a real eggy smell that i don't like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Sheer brilliance. I used this recipe to make it for the very first time and skipped the coffee flavored liquor and made fresh espresso instead. According to the italian grocer, the key to a great tiramisu is super strong espresso - it also didn't hurt that their marscapone cheese (polengi brand) and lady finger cookies (bonnomi) were both excellent ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Megan Humble
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
I looked up this recipe a few years ago when I discovered my boyfriend was in love with the tiramisu his late father used to make. I decided to make it for his birthday, and he flipped. Everyone loves it. It's become a birthday tradition now, and we even decided to use this recipe for our wedding cake! One of our guests told me that he's never liked tiramisu before, and he went back for fifths! The first time I made this, the lady fingers made up about half the cost. So since then, I've used angel food cake instead. You can make your own, but I'm usually so busy around my husband's birthday (he has the misfortune of sharing a birthday with Jesus) that I'll just pick two up at the grocery store for $4 and slice it up. It usually takes a bundt cake and a loaf cake. It's slightly sweeter, and not quite as pretty, but delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I made this for Italian day potluck for work.. So easy to put together.. However I would suggest cutting down on the sugar.. I also used a 8 inch springform pan. I did taste the filling.. Wow its sure to be a success! Lol..Update it was a HUGE Hit .. One of the girls at work actually said if I had a bakery she would bake this from me .. :) I love Allreceipes, theyve never steered me wrong!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2011
This is beyond fabulous. It is a little more work than a standard dessert but tastes like a million bucks. And that's what it'll cost for all the ingredients too! Just kidding. Made this for a large get together and had many people say that this was not only the BEST tiramisu they have ever had in their life but the BEST dessert they have ever had. A note on the recipe: It calls for way more ladyfingers than you will need if you are using a spring form pan. I couldn't find enough at the store and ended up making them from scratch(now that is a pain!) but made too many because of the incorrect amount. I would say you need about 16 oz worth of lady fingers not 24 if you are using a spring form pan. Make this recipe if you want people to think you are a fabulous cook and want to give you a diamond necklace because of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
WOW!!!! That was fantastic! After reading the reviews I decreased the sugar to 3/4 cup and used 12 oz of Starbucks coffee with a shot of marsala wine instead of coffee liqueur. I also added some coffee to the cream mixture. YUMMY!!!!! BUT it NEEDED to set overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dix Hills, New York, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
can someone guide me if this recipe is safe to eat during pregnancy since the egg yolks in it are some what cooked. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
You can never go wrong having tiramisu, yet you can mess up during the making of. Some tips: Melt the sugar down to a syrup in the double broiler with a bit of water. Then in a separate bowl combine syrup with egg yolks and whisk to the thick lemon yellow consistency. This made it much easier since it was my first time with a double broiler. Plus with this method all the sugar melts and the yolks won't end up being cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have tried many tiramisu recepies and this is by far the tastiest. I've made it twice and served in giant trifle bown - as beautiful as it is delicious :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I reviewed this once, but thought since I have made it so many times I would review it one more time. The basic recipe is good with a little tweeking. First please, please, please buy the hard ladyfingers - when you dip them they become soft - if you start off with the soft ones they become mush after sitting. Use 2 cups of espresso with 1/4 cup liquor of your choice - I use rum - you can also adjust how much liquor you put in for those who like it stronger. The amount of sugar is way off to my liking. I use 1/2 cup sugar with the egg yolks. I put the eggs and sugar in a bowl over simmering water and take my hand mixer and mix the entire time they are heating...makes it easier. Whip the cream until very stiff. With these adjustments this is a wonderful recipe!!! Also I know people substitute the mascarpone cheese, but don't do it unless you have to - the original is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 608) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Tiramisu

Make rich, creamy tiramisu at home. Bella!

Tiramisu II

Create a delicious, authentic tiramisu--rich and impressive.

Tiramisu Chocolate Mousse

See how to prepare the perfect topper to a romantic dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States